Story Links

March 6, 2002

RALEIGH, N.C. – University of Virginia guard Roger Mason, Jr., (Silver Spring, Md.) and forward/center Travis Watson (Brookneal, Va.) are second-team selections to the 2002 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Basketball Team. In addition, UVa forward Elton Brown (Newport News, Va.) and guard Keith Jenifer (Baltimore, Md.) are honorable mention selections to the 2002 ACC All-Freshman Team.

The teams were voted on by members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Writers Association.

Mason, a 6-5 junior, leads the Cavaliers in scoring (506, 18.7 ppg.), assists (112, 4.1 apg.), minutes played (968, 35.9 mpg.), free throw percentage (125-141, 88.7 percent) and three-point field goals made (77). He is second in the ACC in free throw percentage and third in scoring. He was a third-team All-ACC selection last season.

Watson, a 6-8 junior, leads the Cavaliers in rebounding (256, 9.8 rpg.), and is third on the team in scoring (360, 13.8 ppg.) and minutes played (770, 29.6 mpg.). He leads the ACC in rebounding, offensive rebounds (93, 3.6 pg.), defensive rebounds (163, 6.3 pg.) and double-doubles (16, including 10 in ACC games). He was also a second-team All-ACC selection last season.

Brown has played in all 27 of Virginia’s games and started five. He is averaging 7.6 points and 3.3 rebounds a game.

Jenifer has also played in all of UVa’s games and has started 13. He is averaging 3.9 points, 2.0 rebounds and 2.7 assists a game.

Members of the All-ACC first team are Carlos Boozer, Mike Dunleavy and Jason Williams of Duke, Juan Dixon of Maryland and Anthony Grundy of North Carolina State. In addition to Mason and Watson, the second team is made up of Tony Akins (Georgia Tech), Lonny Baxter (Maryland) and Darius Songaila (Wake Forest). The All-ACC third team is comprised of Steve Blake (Maryland), Jason Capel (North Carolina), Josh Howard (Wake Forest), Edward Scott (Clemson) and Chris Wilcox (Maryland).

The ACC All-Freshman Team is made up of Julius Hodge and Josh Powell of North Carolina State, B.J. Elder and Ed Nelson of Georgia Tech, and Jawad Williams of North Carolina.

Print Friendly Version