Story Links

Feb. 24, 2003

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Student Athlete-of-the-Month showcases athletes who have demonstrated excellence both on the playing field and in the classroom. The February Female Student Athlete-of-the-Month, fourth-year Henriette Williams has displayed a strong work ethic in her academic and athletic endeavors. A Distinguished Major in Sociology from Raleigh, NC, Williams works hard in the classroom, and on the tennis court.

Q: Why did you decide to attend UVa?

A: I chose to come to UVa because it is a well-rounded school with a solid reputation and a lot to offer academically, athletically, and socially.

Q: What is your rank on the UVa team?

A: I’m ranked #1 for both singles and doubles.

Q: What have you enjoyed most about your four years here?

A: The people I have met while here. I have made so many different friends from all over the US and I enjoy spending time with them. This place is so special to me because of the diversity of my friendships.

Q: Who, would you say, has influenced your life the most and why?

A: My family has definitely been a huge influence. But my older brother in particular because he has kind-of always been my role model.

Q: What has been the most challenging aspect of your tennis career?

A: Definitely the head games. When people start to play mind games with you on the court as opposed to just playing the game, it makes it difficult. It’s one of those things you have to conquer within yourself before you can truly handle the court.

Q: How do you balance your classes and coursework with your tennis schedule?

A: It’s not really as bad as people make it out to be, but I’ve been doing it all my life. But I think most of the girls on the team have as well. We all have been competing on a national level for so long that it’s become routine.

Q: What are your plans for after graduation?

A: I want to go to law school. Right now I’m thinking UNC or Duke. It would be very different being at another ACC school besides Virginia, but I really want to go somewhere close to home. I would be near my family, including my youngest sister who is still in high school and my brother, who is thinking about going to Duke Medical School. I guess those two schools just make sense!

Q: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

A: I want to have my own family by then and I’ll probably be living somewhere in the South.

Print Friendly Version