Story Links

May 13, 2006

OAK RIDGE, Tenn. – The University of Virginia women’s rowing team had four of its crews advance to the championship round of the Aramark South/Central Championships on Saturday.

UVa’s varsity four, which included rowers Mary Eddy (coxswain), Yvonne Epp, Diane Leigh, Allison Brennan, and Bridget Wandelt, won its opening heat in 7:30.8. Wisconsin (7:38.3) was second, followed by Texas (7:43.0), Central Florida (7:49.3), Miami (7:56.2), and Iowa (8:17.2). In the afternoon semifinal, the crew also finished first in 7:44.3. Minnesota (7:49.34) took second, while Michigan (7:53.83) finished third. Tennessee (7:56.44), Central Florida(8:11.57), and Kansas State (8:22.04) rounded out the field. The varsity four championship race will begin at 11 a.m. on Sunday, May 14.

The 15th-ranked first varsity eight of Caitlin Mixter (coxswain), Ashley Jones, Melanie Kok, Andria Haneman, Kerry Maher, Bridget Fowler, Heather Gardner, Sara Lippa, and Libby McCann finished second in its heat in 7:04.6. Michigan State (7:02.4) won the race. Iowa (7:15.8) was third, followed by Texas (7:20.9), Southern Methodist (7:29.7), and Cincinnati (7:41.1). In the semifinal, Virginia finished fourth in 6:49.03, just missing the cut for the championship final. Wisconsin (6:40.80) won the event, followed by Minnesota (6:41.66), and Tennessee (6:42.87). Louisville (6:52.16) and Duke (6:52.65) rounded out the field. Virginia will compete in the petite final at 11:30 a.m.

UVa’s second varsity eight of Michelle Ellison (coxswain), Chrissie Monaghan, Mindy Fiesler, Renee Albers, Katrin Sydlik, Mieke Pitts, Kelsie Chaudoin, Crystal MacLeod, and Anna Samaha finished second in its heat in 6:48.8. Wisconsin captured first in 6:47.3. In semifinal action, Virginia took third in 7:00.16. Ohio State (6:54.90) claimed the win, followed by Michigan State (6:56.15). Minnesota (7:03.21) was fourth, followed by Texas (7:17.40) and Central Florida (7:28.14). UVa will compete in the championship round at 11:20 a.m.

The novice eight finished third in its opening heat in 7:06.6, but won its semifinal in 7:30.0. Manned by Sara Peeling (coxswain), Jessica Streufert, Augusta Stratos, Vanessa Furman, Mariel Plagenhoef, Amanda Chase, Krista Weissbart, Mariana Lima, and Bianca Spinosa, UVa finished in 7:30.0. Indiana (7:35.83) was second, followed by Kansas State (7:47.31), Central Florida (7:48.16), North Carolina (7:55.13), and Tennessee (8:00.25). Virginia will compete in the championship at 10:40 a.m.

Uva had two crews competing in the open four. UVa’s “B” boat, manned by Taylor Gilmore (coxswain), Adrienne Egge, Lindsay Arnold, Sarah Blair, and Kirsten Graslie, won its heat in 7:56.1.The Cavaliers also won its semifinal race in 8:06.60. Tennessee (8:08.80) was second, followed by Notre Dame”B” (8:11.17), Texas (8:11.78), Miami (8:13.13), and Cincinnati (8:35.62). UVa will compete in championship round action at 10:20 a.m.

UVa’s “A” boat of Sorelle Williams (coxswain), Megan Haughs, Victoria Moore, Schafer Bomstein, and Lindsey Fletcher finished sixth in its heat in 8:05.8. Tennessee captured the event in 7:43.8, followed by Wisconsin (7:46.9), Notre Dame “B” (7:51.1), Louisville (7:53.2), and Ohio State “B”(7:56.4). Virginia will compete in the “C” final at 9:20 a.m.

Action concludes at the Aramark South/Central Championships on Sunday, May 14 at Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Virginia’s Schedule for Sunday, May 14:
9:20 a.m. Open Four, C Final
10:40 a.m. Open Four “B” championship
10:40 a.m. 1st Novice 8 championship
11:00 a.m. 1st Varsity Four championship
11:20 a.m. 2nd Varsity Eight championship
11:30 a.m. 1st Varsity eight petite final

Print Friendly Version