Story Links

Oct. 10, 2006

Greensboro, NC – Virginia unanimous All-America offensive tackle Jim Dombrowski will be the former Cavalier player honored this year when the ACC presents its Football Legends class, the Conference announced Tuesday. The 2006 ACC Football Legends will be honored on December 1 and 2 at events and ceremonies surrounding this year’s Dr. Pepper ACC Football Championship Game in Jacksonville, Florida.

Dombrowski anchored Virginia’s offensive line for four straight seasons and earned unanimous All-America honors in 1985 as a senior. A two-time winner of the Jacobs Blocking Trophy as the ACC’s top blocker, he helped lead the resurgence of Virginia football under head coach George Welsh, leading the Cavaliers to three straight winning seasons. A first-round draft choice by the New Orleans Saints in the 1986 NFL Draft, he spent 11 seasons with the Saints, playing in a club-record 147 consecutive games.

Joining Dombrowski in this year’s 12-man class are former Heisman Trophy winners Doug Flutie (1981-84) of Boston College and Gino Torretta (1989-92) of Miami and a pair of Outland Trophy Winners in NC State’s Jim Ritcher (1976-79) and Maryland’s Randy White (1972-74).

Also announced Tuesday were Michael Dean Perry (1984-87), a consensus All-America defensive tackle from Clemson; All-America offensive tackle Art Gregory (1960-62) of Duke; William Floyd (1990-93), a triple threat fullback from Florida State; Consensus All-America defensive end Marco Coleman (1989-91) of Georgia Tech; consensus All-America defensive tackle William Fuller (1980-83) of North Carolina; National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame member wide receiver Carroll Dale (1956-59) of Virginia Tech and three-time all-ACC running back James McDougald (1976-79) of Wake Forest.

Flutie, who now serves as a college football analyst for ABC-TV, captured the Heisman Trophy in 1984 for the Eagles. Flutie, who set national career records for total offense (11,054) and passing yardage (10,579) during his career at Boston College, led the Eagles to a 30-11-1 record and to three postseason bowl appearances–at the time, the school’s first football post-season play in 40 years. In his senior season he also captured the Maxwell Trophy, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and numerous players of the year awards in leading BC to a 9-2 season and No. 5 national rankings.

Torretta, the 1992 Heisman Trophy winner, is one of a great line of Miami quarterbacks, still holds Miami career records for passing yards (7,690), completions (555) and total offense (7,722). He led Miami to the 1991 National Championship and to 23 consecutive victories during the 1991-92 seasons and earned the Davey O’Brien and Johnny Unitas Quaterback Awards and the Maxwell Trophy in addition to the Heisman in 1992.

Ritcher won the 1979 Outland Trophy and is considered one of the most gifted centers in college football history, is a two-time consensus All-America who led NC State to the 1979 ACC Football Championship. Though not big, he was extremely fast and athletic for an offensive lineman, many times blocking three defenders on the same play. After college, Ritcher played 16 years in the NFL, earned three All-Pro honors and appeared in four Super Bowls with the Buffalo Bills.

White won the 1974 Outland and Lombardi Trophies and is one of the most feared defenders in ACC history, was a dominant defensive force for Maryland’s 1974 ACC Championship team earning the Outland and Lombardi Trophies in the process. Named the ACC Player of the Year that year, he was also a unanimous first-team All-America. Regarded as perhaps the quickest defensive lineman to play the game, White went on to an All-Pro 14-year career with the Dallas Cowboys of the NFL.

Perry, one of the key members of the 1986 and 1987 ACC Championship Tigers, was named the ACC’s Player of the Year in 1987 as a senior after a career which saw him set ACC records for tackles for loss (61) and quarterback sacks (28), both of which had been held by his older brother William “Refrigerator” Perry. He was a finalist for the Outland Trophy in 1987 and was named a consensus All-America that year. He went on to a 10-year career in the NFL, earning All-Pro honors four times.

Gregory, an exceptional blocker, was voted the Jacobs Blocking Trophy in 1961 and 1962 as the outstanding blocker in the Atlantic Coast Conference. A two-time All-America, he was a leader on three ACC Championship teams for the Blue Devils in 1960, 1961 and 1962, helping Duke to a three-year mark of 23-8 and a win over Arkansas in the 1961 Cotton Bowl.

Floyd, a versatile blocker, runner and receiver for the Florida State teams of from 1991 through1993, he helped lead the Seminoles to ACC Football Championships in 1992 and 1993 and was an important member of the 1993 team that captured the National Championship.

Coleman, a relentless pass rusher who was one of the keys to Georgia Tech’s 1990 National Championship Team, he earned first-team All-America honors in 1990 and 1991. One of three finalists for the 1991 Butkas Award, he finished his career in a tie with Clemson’s Michael Dean Perry for the all-time ACC quarterback sack lead. Coleman helped lead Tech to a three-year mark of 26-9-1 which included the 1990 ACC title. A first-round draft pick as an early entry into the NFL, he played 14 professional seasons.

Fuller, a consensus All-America as a senior, was also a first-team All-America as a junior. He helped lead the Tar Heels to two Top 10 and three Top 20 national rankings as well as to the 1980 ACC Football Championship. Helped the Tar Heels post a 37-11 overall record during his four seasons. Fuller played 13 seasons in the NFL, four times earning All-Pro honors.

Dale, a first-team All-America in 1959, he earned Southern Conference Player of the Year honors in 1958. An excellent receiver who scored 15 touchdowns on just 64 catches, Dale was a complete player as he was awarded the Jacobs Blocking Trophy in 1959 as a senior as the best blocker in the Southern Conference. He played 14 seasons in the NFL including eight seasons with the Green Bay Packers during which time the Packers captured three straight NFL titles (1965-67).

McDougald, one of the best running backs in ACC history, finished his career with Wake Forest with 3,811 rushing yards, which still ranks ninth on the all-time ACC rushing list. A three-time first-team all-ACC running back, McDougald ended his career in 1979 as the ACC’s all-time leader in rushing attempts and third in career rushing yardage. He posted one of the greatest individual performances in ACC history against Clemson in 1979, rushing for 249 yards on 45 carries. McDougald scored game-winning touchdowns against 12th-ranked Georgia and 13th-ranked Auburn that year in leading the Deacons to a berth in the Tangerine Bowl.

The 2006 ACC Football Legend’s Class will be feted first at the ACC’s Coaches and Awards Luncheon at 12 noon on Friday, Dec. 1 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel Riverside in Jacksonville, then later that day at the ACC Legends Reception and Awards Ceremony also at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. The Legends will also be presented to the ACC Championship Game crowd during pre-game ceremonies at Alltel Stadium prior to the nationally-televised (1 p.m., ABC) contest on Saturday, Dec. 2.

Tickets information to both events, as well as ticket information for the ACC Football Championship Game can be obtained by contacting the Gator Bowl Association in Jacksonville (904-798-1700) or by going to the Gator Bowl website––or by accessing the ACC website–

Print Friendly Version