Story Links

Feb. 4, 2007

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Virginia junior guard Sean Singletary (Philadelphia, Pa./The William Penn Charter School) is one of 17 finalists for the Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford, Inc. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate point guard. The finalists were selected by a screening committee comprised of members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) representing all three divisions of collegiate basketball.

Singletary is averaging 19.0 points, 4.2 rebounds and 5.0 assists a game for the Cavaliers. He has twice been named the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Week and is shooting 89.0 percent (138-155) from the free throw line.

Singletary was also one of 30 players recently named to the Wooden Award Midseason All-America Team released by the John R. Wooden Award Committee.

Virginia is currently 15-6 overall and 7-2 in the ACC.

In addition to Singletary, the other finalists include Anthony Atkinson (Barton College), David Arsenault (Grinnell College), Bobby Brown (Cal State Fullerton), Darren Collison (UCLA), Levance Fields (Pittsburgh), Taurean Green (Florida), Dominic James (Marquette), Jared Jordan (Marist), Acie Law (Texas A& M), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Andrew Olson (Amherst College), Russell Robinson (Kansas), Ramon Sessions (Nevada), Mustafa Shakur (Arizona), Ronald Steele (Alabama) and Zach Whiting (Chaminade).

College basketball fans nationwide have the opportunity to vote for their favorite candidate on-line at and also enter a drawing to receive two tickets to a 2007 men’s NCAA first, second or regional round game. The player receiving the most votes from the on-line poll will receive the “Fan Vote,” representing one vote to be cast by the committee selecting the award winner. The committee is comprised of Hall of Famers including Bob Cousy, Lute Olson and Jim Calhoun, college coaches from Divisions I, II and III, members of the media and additional college basketball experts and celebrities.

The 2007 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford winner will be announced at the NCAA Men’s Final Four in Atlanta, Ga., on April 2.

Print Friendly Version