Story Links

KANSAS CITY, Mo.Virginia guard Sean Singletary (Philadelphia, Pa.) is one of the top 30 candidates for the men’s 2007-08 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. The award is presented annually to an NCAA Division I male and female senior basketball player who excel both on and off the court.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award was launched during the 2001-02 season to honor the attributes of college basketball seniors who remain committed to their university and pursue the many rewards that a senior season can bring.

From the list of 30 nominees for each gender, a national media committee will select 10 finalists in January for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. The names of the 10 finalists will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote during the NCAA Tournament in March. Fan balloting will be coupled with votes from coaches and media to determine the male and female recipients. Virginia’s J.R. Reynolds was a finalist for the 2006-07 award.

Singletary is a team co-captain for the third consecutive season in 2007-08. Through seven games this season, he leads Virginia in scoring (20.4 ppg.) and assists (6.9 apg.). He currently ranks fifth on the Cavaliers’ career list for three-point field goals made (178), sixth in assists (433), seventh in free throws made (429), 10th in steals (151) and 13th in scoring (1,569 points). Singletary was a first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference selection each of the last two seasons and earned several All-America honors last season, including third-team All-America recognition by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).

He is also a top 50 preseason candidate for the John R. Wooden Award, is on the preseason Watch List for the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T and is on the preseason list for the Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford.

Singletary is one of three representatives from the ACC among the 30 male candidates for the 2007-08 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. The other players from the conference are Cliff Hammonds (Clemson) and DeMarcus Nelson (Duke).

Alando Tucker of Wisconsin received the male Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award last season and Alison Bales of Duke received the female award.

Print Friendly Version