Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA Ben Rubeor has been named one of five finalists for the Tewaaraton Trophy, given annually to the top lacrosse player in the nation. The award will be presented at the Tewaaraton Award Foundation’s annual banquet on May 29.

A senior from Towson, Md., he is one of the team captains and earned All-ACC honors for the third consecutive season this year. He is having an impressive season despite missing three games and not being at full speed. He leads the team with 33 goals and has added 12 assists for 45 points. He is ranked seventh nationally in goals (2.75 per game) and 10th in points (3.75/g).

A finalist for the award last season, he is 13th in career goals and 20th in career points in ACC history.

The other finalists are Duke attackmen Matt Danowski and Zack Greer, Johns Hopkins midfielder Paul Rabil, and Syracuse attackman Mike Leveille.

Virginia is the only school to have two different players win the Tewaaraton Trophy. Matt Ward won the award after leading Virginia to a national championship two years ago, while midfielder Chris Rotelli won it as a senior in 2003 after leading UVa to the national championship.

The second-ranked Cavaliers host UMBC in the first round of the NCAA Championships Sunday at 5 p.m.

Print Friendly Version