Story Links

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia head coach Julie Myers has been named the 2008 ACC Coach of the Year, announced today by the conference office. The distinction marks just the second time Myers has been voted the top coach in the league, as she earned the honor in 2002 after leading the Cavaliers to the regular-season title.

Myers has guided the Cavaliers to a 14-3 mark and their third-straight ACC Championship this season. She led Virginia to back-to-back, come-from-behind, 10-9, victories over Duke and Maryland, respectively, in the ACC Tournament to claim the title and automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament. In addition, she saw senior goalkeeper Kendall McBrearty become just the second player ever to be named a two-time ACC Tournament MVP.

Earlier in the season, Myers led Virginia to its 400th victory, as it became just the third program in Division I women’s lacrosse history to reach the mark. In addition, in guiding the team to its first undefeated regular season at home since 1996, Myers collected her 100th win in Charlottesville in just 124 tries, and in winning the ACC Championship game, Myers became just the fourth coach to reach the 200-win plateau. She has been at the helm of the Cavalier program throughout 259 contests, 200 of which she has won.

Myers is currently among the top-three winningest coaches in Division I and is looking to guide this season’s squad into the NCAA Tournament for the 13th straight season.

Myers’ selection marks the eighth time this year a Cavalier coach has received ACC Coach of the Year honors. Jason Dunn was named for men’s cross country, Al Groh for football, Kim Lewellen for women’s golf, Mark Bernardino for men’s and women’s swimming, Kevin Sauer for rowing and Brian Boland for men’s tennis.

The Cavaliers will play host to conference-foe North Carolina on Sunday in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. Game time is slated for 1 p.m., in Klckner Stadium.

Print Friendly Version