Story Links

COLLEGE PARK, Md. Five Cavaliers have scored spots in the finals of the 200 freestyle tonight as preliminaries began day three of the 2009 ACC Championships in College Park, Md. The meet is being held at the Eppley Recreation Center Natatorium.

In the first event of the morning, the 400 individual medley, four Virginia swimmers secured their way into the finals. Senior Pat Mellors had the second-fastest time of the morning with an NCAA B time of 3:46.79. He will be joined by Darren Anksoko (3:47.13, B), Tim Hayes (3:48.37, B) and Ian Vogt (3:49.09, B).

Senior Lee Robertson broke his own school record in the 100 butterfly, touching at 46.62, an NCAA B mark. The time, which was just .02 away from the ACC record, broke Robertson’s previous school-best mark of 47.14, set in 2008. Pat Reams (47.05, B) and Peter Geissinger (47.17) will swim alongside Robertson in the finals this evening.

Scot Robison, John Azar and Matt McLean led a pack of Cavaliers in the 200 freestyle. Robison was .03 seconds away from McLean’s ACC and school record, finishing with an NCAA B time of 1:34.57. Azar touched at 1:34.79 and McLean finished in 1:34.98. They will be joined by David Karasek (1:35.77) and Taylor Smith (1:36.75), who also advanced to the finals. All five Virginia swimmers clocked NCAA B standards.

Ryan Hurley will be the lone UVa representative tonight in the 100 breaststroke. Hurley finished third in the morning session with an NCAA B time of 53.78. Eric Olesen and David Wren advance to the finals of the 200 backstroke. Olsen clocked a time of 47.08 and Wren touched at 48.20. Both were NCAA B times.

ACC Select will provide live video streaming of the championships starting tonight at 5:15 p.m. There is no charge to watch the webcasts. ACC Select coverage will continue Saturday at 7 p.m. Live results from the championships are available by clicking here.

Print Friendly Version