Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Virginia men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams placed 17 student-athletes on the 2009 All-ACC Academic Team, released Wednesday by the conference office.

Eight Cavalier women were named to the 42-member team, including Mei Christensen, Ellie Freeman, Jenny Lewis, Jenna Harris, Kristen Moores, Jen Narum, Lauren Smart and Kristen Wallace.

Nine of the Virginia men were named to the 40-member squad, including David Karasek, Ryan Hurley, Briggy Imbriglia, Pat Mellors, Lee Robertson, Taylor Smith, Ian Vogt and David Wren.

Christensen was tabbed the ACC Swimmer of the Year and was a two-time league individual champion in the 100 and 200 backstroke events. Hurley, a senior, won his first career conference title in the 200 breaststroke at the ACC Championships.

Additionally, Christensen, Harris, Moores, Narum, Smart, Wallace, Karasek, Hurley and Robertson were all members of at least one All-American relay team at the 2009 NCAA Championships.

Both the UVa men and women led the way with the most student-athletes of any school in the conference. NC State’s Kristin Davies and Miami’s Ruben Ross, both divers, each earned the conference’s scholar-athlete of the year award.

For a complete list of the ACC All-Academic Team, click here.

Print Friendly Version