Story Links

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – The Virginia women’s swimming team continued competition Thursday in the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Championships at Koury Natatorium in Chapel Hill, N.C.

Men’s 3-meter diving is currently underway and live results can be found at or by clicking here. Both the men’s and women’s diving events are taking place during the women’s championships.

Prelims opened with heats of the 500 free and three Cavaliers – Katya Bachrouche, Jen Narum and Jenna Harris – each earned a place in the finals. Bachrouche posted the third-fastest time of the morning, touching in 4:44.36. Narum was fourth (4:45.09) and Harris was sixth (4:46.73). All three times were NCAA ‘B’ standards. Anne Summer Myers additionally earned a spot in the consolation finals with an NCAA ‘B’ mark of 4:48.41. She finished 11th overall in the morning session.

Virginia swept the top-3 spots of the prelims in the 200 IM. Liz Shaw set a Koury Natatorium pool record in the event, finishing with a time of 1:58.78. Swimming in the same heat, classmate Claire Crippen was second overall in 1:58.82. Amanda Faulkner was third (1:58.95) while Katherine McDonnell also earned a berth in the finals this eventing with a time of 2:00.29. All four swimmers clocked NCAA ‘B’ times.

The Cavaliers also placed four student-athletes in the finals of the 50 free. Lauren Perdue took the top seed with a mark of 22.35 in the prelims. She will be joined by Mei Christensen (22.69), Kelly Flynn (22.79) and Hannah Davis (22.80) in the finals tonight. All four marks were NCAA ‘B’ times. Two Virginia swimmers – Kristen Moores (23.04) and Meredith Cavaliers (23.14) will swim in the consolation finals.

“It was mostly a very positive session,” Virginia head coach Mark Bernardino said. “We qualified people where we wanted to and we have opportunities in front of us now. We did what we wanted to do in term of putting athletes into the finals. We didn’t waste very many swims at all. Now we have to swim better, swim faster, swim with a little more toughness and sincerity tonight.”

Finals begin tonight at 7 p.m. and will be broadcast live on ACC Select.

Print Friendly Version