Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia men’s lacrosse players Shamel Bratton, Brian Carroll, Ken Clausen and Steele Stanwick are among 26 players announced as candidates for the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy by the Tewaaraton Foundation. Virginia and Syracuse are the only two programs in the nation to have four players on the list for the award presented annually to the top collegiate player.

Bratton, a junior midfielder from Huntington Station, N.Y., spent the early portion of the season hampered with a leg injury and has been a valuable asset to the UVa midfield, recording 10 goals and nine assists while pulling two poles almost every time he touches the ball. Bratton’s 19 points rank No. 5 on the team, which is impressive since he really didn’t see much of the field until March 13 at No. 8 Cornell.

Carroll, a native of Towson, Md., is third on the team with 24 points off of 16 goals and eight assists. He tied a career high with five goals against Vermont on March 16 and his 84 career goals ranks No. 4 all-time at UVa among midfielders.

Clausen hails from Downingtown, Pa., and is in the midst of a stellar season on the defensive side of the ball. He ranks No. 4 nationally with 2.27 caused turnovers a game for a defense that has held all of its opponents except for Towson under their scoring average for the season. A finalist for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, Clauen has the opportunity this season to become UVa’s first three-time first-team All-American.

Inside Lacrosse most recently named Stanwick the player of the game after UVa’s 7-5 triumph over No. 2 North Carolina at the Big City Classic, held in the New Meadowlands. The Baltimore, Md., native has scored seven goals and dished out two assists in his past two games, victories over the No. 2 Tar Heels and No. 4 Maryland Terrapins. Stanwick leads the team with 20 assists, and is second with 19 goals and 39 overall points.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the preeminent lacrosse award honoring the nation’s top collegiate lacrosse player for his extraordinary achievements on the field. All Tewaaraton nominees are screened and selected by a committee, which is comprised of collegiate coaches.

In addition, 2010 will host the 10th annual awards ceremony and is considered the “Year of the Seneca.”

The ACC is the only conference in the nation to boast double-digit candidates on this year’s finalists list. In fact, the ACC owns at least seven more candidates than any other conference, including the BIG EAST, which earned four selections on the annual list, all of which were Syracuse student-athletes.

Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora.

The award will be presented on June 3rd, 2010 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. For additional information on the award or to purchase tickets please visit:

Print Friendly Version