Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Virginia swimming and diving teams celebrated the 2009-10 campaign with its annual awards banquet held recently in Charlottesville. Both the men and women claimed the ACC titles for a third consecutive season. The women went on to place ninth at the NCAA Championships, while the men finished 10th.

The MVP awards were presented to senior Mei Christensen and junior Scot Robison for their outstanding achievements over the course of the season. Both received the award for the second consecutive season.

Christensen, a two-time ACC Swimmer of the Year, earned All-America honors in five event at the NCAA Championships, including the 100 and 200 back events in addition to contributing to three of Virginia’s All-American relay squads. She defended her conference titles in the 100 and 200 back at the ACC Championships and was also a part of three championship relays in helping the Cavalier women to their first three-peat win at the league meet.

Robison earned All-America honors in six events at the NCAA Championships, highlighted by a fourth-place finish in the 200 free. He also swam as member of four of Virginia’s relay teams. At the ACC Championships, Robison claimed the 50, 100 and 200 free events and contributed on four winning relays en route to being named the most valuable swimmer of the event.

First-years Lauren Perdue and Tom Casey were awarded the Rookie of the Year trophy. Perdue was named the most valuable swimmer at the ACC Championships after winning the 50, 100 and 200 free events and swimming as part of four winning relays. She went on to earn All-America honors in six events at her first NCAA Championships. Casey nabbed All-America accolades as part of both the 200 and 400 medley relay teams at the NCAA Championships. He was an all-conference selection in the 100 breast after earning a third-place finish.

The Coaches Award, presented in recognition of significant athletic contribution through dedication, attitude, commitment and performance instrumental to the team’s success, was shared by Smart and senior John Azar.

Robison and Perdue were given the award for Performance of the ear, both in the 200 free at the ACC Championships. Robison won the event in 1:32.45, while Perdue took home the title in 1:43.86; both performances set conference records.

The Ramirez Family Leadership Award, presented to the student-athlete who exhibits the traits of superior leadership ability, high ethics, excellence in the classroom and preeminence in the University community, was awarded to Christensen and fellow senior Garrett Wren.

The Peggy and Terry McCarty H.E.A.R.T. (Humor, Enthusiasm, Ability, Readiness, Trustworthiness) of the Team Award, presented to the team member who best exemplifies the characteristics that create team cohesions as a family away from home, was given to senior Daniel Johnson.

Fourth-year members of the swimming and diving team were also recognized at the banquet. The Class of 2010 includes Darren Anksoko, Azar, Alex D’Ambrosio, Alex Germain, Graham Greytak, Johnson, Dan McMahon, Eric Olesen, Wren, Christensen, Jenna Harris, Colleen Law, Katherine McDonnell, Jen Narum and Leslie Swinley.

A complete list of award winners follows:
Dave Fafara Diving Award of Excellence – Briggy Imbriglia
Academic Award – Garrett Wren (biochemisty), Jen Narum (foreign affairs, German)
Hardest Worker – Peter Geissinger, Jenna Harris
Lifter of the Year – David Wren, Liz Shaw
Rookie of the Year – Tom Casey, Lauren Perdue
MVP – Scot Robison, Mei Christensen
Unsung Hero – Eric Olesen, Kat McDonnell
Performance of the Year – Scot Robison (200 free at ACCs – 1:32.45), Lauren Perdue (200 free at ACCs, 1:43.86)
H.E.A.R.T. of the Team Award – Daniel Johnson
Coaches Award – John Azar, Lauren Smart
Maury/Green Award for Sportsmanship – Scot Robison, Mei Christensen
Ramirez Family Leadership Award – Garrett Wren, Mei Christensen
Gus and Becky Ramirez Swimming & Diving Scholarship – Scot Robison, Claire Crippen
Bernardino Scholarship – Lauren Perdue

Print Friendly Version