Story Links

ACC Championship History

ACC Champions
2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010

ACC Regular Season Champions
2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010

ACC History
Over the past seven seasons, the Virginia Cavaliers have been the dominant program in the Atlantic Coast Conference. The team has won at least a share of the regular season title every year since 2004 and won the ACC Tournament in six of those years.

Virginia won its first ACC title in 2004. The Cavaliers finished the regular season with a 7-1 record and tied for first in the conference with North Carolina. In the ACC Tournament, the Cavaliers downed Florida State in the quarterfinals before topping reigning ACC Champion Duke, 4-0, in the semifinals. In the final, the Cavaliers and Clemson were tied at 3-3 before first-year Marko Miklo won in three sets in the decisive match to clinch the first conference title in school history, Miklo was named Tournament MVP.

In 2005, the Cavaliers posted their first undefeated season in the conference. Virginia went through the regular season with a 9-0 record and were the No. 1 seed for the ACC Tournament for the first time. In the tournament, the Cavaliers recorded wins over Miami, Wake Forest, and Florida State, losing only two points in the process. Darrin Cohen, who was 3-0 in both singles and doubles on the weekend, was named Tournament MVP.

The Cavaliers won their third consecutive regular season ACC crown in 2006, finishing in a three-way first place tie with Duke and Miami with a 9-2 record. Virginia defeated Clemson and the Hurricanes in the quarterfinals and semifinals of the tournament, but fell 4-3 to the Blue Devils in the final.

Virginia made history in 2007 becoming the first school to go undefeated through the ACC regular season since the league expanded to 12 teams. The feat was even more impressive due to the fact that the ACC led all conferences with 10 teams selected to the NCAA Tournament. In the ACC Tournament, the Cavaliers topped Miami, Wake Forest, and North Carolina, losing just one point on the weekend. Ted Angelinos, who won all three singles matches in the event by losing just six games, was named Tournament MVP.

In 2008, the Cavaliers again went undefeated through the conference, winning the regular season and tournament crowns. Virginia went 11-0 in the regular season before topping NC State, Wake Forest and Miami at the ACC Tournament. Treat Huey was named Tournament MVP.

Virginia went undefeated in the ACC during the regular season for the third consecutive year in 2009 and captured the regular season title for the sixth straight year. The Cavaliers captured their third consecutive ACC Tournament title with wins over North Carolina, Florida State and Wake Forest. Dominic Inglot, who defeated the two highest ranked singles players in the conference at the tournament, was named Tournament MVP.

Last year, the Cavaliers once again went undefeated throught the conference, the fourth consecutive year they accomplished the feat. They topped Miami, Georgia Tech and Duke to win their fourth straight ACC Tournament. Houston Barrick was named Tournament MVP.

Since the 2004 season, the Cavaliers have accumulated a 69-3 regular season record and a 20-1 tournament record in the conference. Both of those marks are the best in the ACC during that four-year span. The Cavaliers enter the 2011 season with a conference-record 62-match winning streak against conference opponents (regular season and tournaments).

Print Friendly Version