Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia field hockey players Elly Buckley, Paige Selenski and Michelle Vittese were named to the 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference team, announced Wednesday by the league office.

Virginia has placed three student-athletes on the all-conference squad for the second straight year. Selenski and Vittese were both selections a year ago, as was former Cavalier Inga Stöckel.

Selenski, a junior out of Shavertown, Pa., was selected to the All-ACC team for the third consecutive season. She is a two-time All-American who leads the Cavaliers with 23 goals on the year; her seven game-winning goals also pace the league. She has two hat tricks on the year.

Vittese, an honoree for the second time, was named to the preseason All-ACC squad along with Selenski in August. The junior from Cherry Hill, N.J., has contributed four goals and two assists out of the backfield for the Orange and Blue.

Buckley, a freshman who hails from Perth, Australia, has made an immediate impact for UVa. She is second behind Selenski with 14 goals and leads the team with 10 assists. It is her first career honor.

Maryland senior Katie O’Donnell was tabbed the ACC Player of the Year for the fourth consecutive season. Terp mentor Missy Meharg was also named the ACC Coach of the Year.

No. 3 Virginia opens ACC Championship play at 3:30 p.m. Thursday against sixth-seeded Duke in Winston-Salem, N.C. The game will be webcast live on

2010 All-ACC Field Hockey Team

Name Year
School Emily Kozniuk
Sr. M Boston College Tara Jennings
Jr. M Duke Rhian Jones !
Jr. B Duke Jemma Buckley
Jr. B Maryland Megan Frazer
So. M Maryland Katie O’Donnell ^
Sr. F Maryland Harriet Tibble So. B Maryland Jill Witmer
Fr. F Maryland Jackie Kintzer !
Sr. GK North Carolina Kelsey Kolojejchick !
So. M North Carolina Marta Malmberg
Fr. B North Carolina Caitlin Van Sickle
So. B North Carolina Elly Buckley
Virginia Paige Selenski #
Virginia Michelle Vittese !
Jr. B
Virginia Lauren Greenwald
Wake Forest Lizzie Rae
F Wake Forest
Offensive Player of the Year: Katie O’Donnell, Maryland
Defensive Player of the Year:
Caitlin Van Sickle, North Carolina
Freshman of the Year:
Jill Witmer, Maryland
Coach of the Year:
Missy Meharg, Maryland

! – Two-time selection
# – Three-time selection
^ – Four-time selection

Print Friendly Version