Story Links

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Virginia women’s lacrosse players Charlie Finnigan (Twickenham, Middlesex, England), Julie Gardner (Severna Park, Md.) and Josie Owen (Gibson Island, Md.) have been named to the 2012 Tewaaraton Award Women’s Watch List. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the Tewaaraton Award, given to the nation’s top female collegiate lacrosse player.

Finnigan, a senior attacker, started 17 games for the Cavaliers in 2011 and led the team with 43 goals. Virginia’s first-ever international player, Finnigan also added 14 assists, 18 ground balls, seven draw controls and five caused turnovers. Highlighted by a five-goal, three-assist game at Syracuse in 2011, Finnigan posted 13 multi-goal games throughout the season. She was a Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) all-state second team member in 2010 after scoring 34 goals and adding 15 assists. Finnigan enters the 2012 season with 77 career goals, 29 career assists and 106 career points for UVa.

Gardner, a senior midfielder, is a repeat selection to the watch list. She will serve along with Owen as a co-captain this season. In 2011, Gardner was selected as a third-team All-American and a first-team All-South Region by the IWCLA in addition to being named to the All-ACC team and the VaSID all-state team. In 18 starts for Virginia last season, Gardner tallied 33 goals and 27 assists for a team-high 60 points. She also contributed 27 ground balls, 14 draw controls and 13 caused turnovers. Gardner scored multiple goals on 11 occasions (five hat tricks) and had at least one point in every game. Gardner begins the 2012 season with 81 career goals, 37 career assists and 118 career points.

Owen, a senior attacker, will serve along with Gardner as a co-captain for the Cavaliers in 2012. In 2011, she started all 18 of UVa’s contests and finished with 40 goals and 16 assists, including a goal in every regular-season game. Owen had multiple points in all but one game and multiple goals on 11 occasions, including seven hat tricks. Last season Owen led the team in draw controls with 43. In 2010, Owen was named to the VaSID all-state second team.

In late April, the men’s and women’s watch lists will be narrowed to 25 that will earn the distinction of Tewaaraton Nominees. In mid-May, the five finalists in each category will be announced. These finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, which will take place on May 31, at the Smithsonian Institute’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The Cavaliers begin their season on Saturday (Feb. 18) vs. Loyola at Klöckner Stadium. The contest is scheduled to begin at 2:30 p.m. Due to the men’s basketball game vs. Maryland at 1 p.m., parking will be available in University Hall lots after 1:30 p.m. based on availability. Additional parking will be available at the Emmet/Ivy Garage after 1:30 p.m.

2012 Women’s Watch List
Lindsay Abbott, Midfield – SUNY Cortland
Casey Ancarrow, Attack – James Madison University
Kelly Barnes, Defense – Georgetown University
Erin Brennan, Attack – University of Pennsylvania
Brittany Brigandi, Midfield – Le Moyne College
Ashley Bruns, Attack – University of Florida
Dana Cahill, Goalie – Penn State University
Kara Cannizzaro, Midfield – University of North Carolina
Ally Carey, Midfield – Vanderbilt University
Kitty Cullen, Attack – University of Florida
Taylor D’Amore, Attack – Johns Hopkins University
Brittany Dashiell, Midfield – University of Florida
Lindsey deButts, Defense – Princeton University
Alexa Demski, Defense – Towson University
Jasmine DePompeo, Attack – United States Naval Academy
Erica Devito, Midfield – Adelphi University
Brittany Dipper, Goalie – University of Maryland
Danielle Etrasco, Attack – Boston University
Charlie Finnigan, Attack – University of Virginia
Mary Flowers, Midfield – University of Richmond
Julie Gardner, Midfield – University of Virginia
Kristen Giovanniello, Goalie – Dartmouth College
Emma Hamm, Attack – Duke University
Ana Heneberry, Defense – Loyola University
Kristin Igoe, Midfield – Boston College
Karri Ellen Johnson, Attack – University of Maryland
Catherine Kennedy, Attack – Mary Washington
Alyssa Kildare, Defense – Johns Hopkins University
Emily Leitner, Goalie – University of Pennsylvania
Becky Lynch, Attack – University of North Carolina
Mollie Mackler, Goalie – Duke University
Alayna Markwordt, Attack – Ohio State University
Leigh Mitchell, Midfield – The College of New Jersey
Josie Owen, Attack – University of Virginia
Ariana Parker, Midfield – University at Albany
Marlee Paton, Midfield – Loyola University
Sarah Plumb, Midfield – Dartmouth College
Cassie Pyle, Midfield – Princeton University
Iliana Sanza, Defense – University of Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann, Midfield – University of Maryland
Shannon Smith, Midfield – Northwestern University
Jessi Steinberg, Attack – Cormell University
Kerry Stoothoff, Goalie – Loyola University
Maggie Tamasitis, Attack – University of Notre Dame
Danielle Tetreault, Midfield – Harvard University
Kat Thomas, Midfield – Duke University
Sophia Thomas, Midfield – Georgetown University
Taylor Thornton, Defense – Northwestern University
Michelle Tumolo, Attack – Syracuse University
Jennifer VanderMeulen, Attack – Harvard University
Katie Webster, Midfield – Syracuse University
Brittany Wilton, Attack – Boston College
Laura Zimmerman, Attack – University of North Carolina

Print Friendly Version