Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – The Virginia men’s tennis team swept the ACC’s top honors as the conference announced the 2012 ACC men’s tennis awards on Thursday. Junior Jarmere Jenkins (College Park, Ga.) was named ACC Player of the Year, Mitchell Frank (Annandale, Va.) was named ACC Freshman of the Year and Brian Boland was named ACC Coach of the Year. The Cavaliers also led all schools with three players on the 18-player All-ACC team with sophomore Alex Domijan (Wesley Chapel, Fla.) joining Jenkins and Frank on the squad.

Jenkins becomes the third Cavalier to be named ACC Player of the Year, joining Brian Vahaly (2000, 2001) and Somdev Devvarman (2008). Currently ranked No. 4 nationally in singles, Jenkins has posted a 29-3 overall singles record this season, including a 16-1 mark at the No. 1 position in dual match play. A three-time ACC Player of the Week this season, he has also teamed with Drew Courtney (Clifton, Va.) for a No. 7 national doubles ranking.

Frank becomes the fifth Cavalier to be named ACC Freshman of the Year, joining Vahaly (1998), Doug Stewart (2003), Devvarman (2005) and Domijan (2011). The nation’s No. 1 ranked singles player the entire spring, Frank is 31-1 overall in singles and 19-1 in dual match play. In the fall he became just the fourth player in history to win both the ITA All-American and ITA National Indoor singles titles in the same year.

Boland was named ACC Coach of the Year for the fifth-consecutive year and the sixth time overall. He led the Cavaliers (24-1) to their sixth-consecutive ACC Championship and their ninth-consecutive ACC regular season title in 2012. Virginia has won a conference-record 92-consecutive matches against ACC competition (regular season and postseason) since 2006.

Domijan was named All-ACC for the second-consecutive year. Currently ranked No. 39 nationally in singles, he is 21-3 this spring in dual match play after missing the fall season due to injury.

The Cavaliers await the announcement of the 2012 NCAA Tournament draw on May 1. NCAA Tournament play will begin May 11-13 with first and second round action at 16 campus sites.

Print Friendly Version