Story Links

Charlottesville, VA – The Virginia women’s golf team is the No. 9 seed at the NCAA Central Regional Championship the NCAA announced tonight. The tournament will be held at The Ohio State University Golf Club’s Scarlett Course May 10-12. It marks the eighth straight year Virginia has received a bid to the NCAA Championships.

The top eight schools from each of three 24-team regional sites will advance to the NCAA Championships along with the top two individuals not advancing from a team from each site. The NCAA Championships are scheduled for May 22-25 at the Vanderbilt Legends Club in Franklin, Tenn.

Virginia has advanced to the NCAA Championships five times during the program’s nine-year history. Last season the Cavaliers finished fourth overall and were led by Brittany Altomare’s 12th-place finish in individual play.

The Central Regional features eight teams currently ranked in the Golfstat top-25 poll. Top seeded USC is ranked No. 3 while No. 2 seed Auburn is ranked fourth in the poll. Georgia is the No. 3 seed and is ninth in the standings. Fourth-seeded Vanderbilt is ranked 10th, five seed Tennessee is ranked No. 15, six seed Ohio State is ranked No. 16, seven seed Oregon is No. 21 and eight seed NC State is ranked No. 22.

Virginia is one of seven ACC teams to receive an invitation to this year’s national championship. Duke is the No. 3 seed in the East Regional while Wake Forest is the No. 14 seed and Maryland is the No. 18 seed at that site. NC State is the No. 8 seed in the Central Regional and Florida State is the No. 10 seed at that tournament. North Carolina is the No. 3 seed in the West Regional.

NCAA Regional Fields

East Regional
Penn State Golf Course (Blue Course), State College, Pa.
1. Alabama, 2. Arizona State. 3. Duke, 4. Texas A&M, 5. Florida, 6. Arizona, 7. Oklahoma State, 8. South Carolina, 9. Michigan State, 10. Washington, 11. Texas, 12. Tulane, 13. UCF, 14. Wake Forest, 15. Northwestern, 16. San Diego State, 17. Kent State, 18. Maryland, 19. Augusta State, 20. Campbell, 21. Chattanooga, 22. Oral Roberts, 23. Jacksonville State, 24. LIU Brooklyn

Central Regional
The Ohio State University Golf Club (Scarlett Course), Columbus, OH

1. USC, 2. Auburn, 3. Georgia, 4. Vanderbilt, 5. Tennessee, 6. Ohio State, 7. Oregon, 8. NC State, 9. Virginia, 10. Florida State, 11. Purdue, 12. Arkansas, 13. Ole Miss, 14. Kentucky, 15. Texas State, 16. South Florida, 17. Notre Dame, 18. UTSA, 19. East Carolina, 20. Michigan, 21. UNC Wilmington, 22. Harvard, 23. Butler, 24. Siena

West Regional
Colorado National Golf Club, Erie, Colo.

1. UCLA, 2. LSU, 3. North Carolina, 4. Colorado, 5. California, 6. Baylor, 7. Pepperdine, 8. UC Davis, 9. Oklahoma, 10. Texas Tech, 11. Tulsa, 12. TCU, 13. Iowa State, 14. Stanford, 15. Denver, 16. UNLV, 17. New Mexico, 18. Oregon State, 19. Illinois, 20 Kennesaw State, 21. San Jose State, 22. Missouri State, 23. Northern Colorado, 24. Jackson State

Print Friendly Version