Story Links

March 12, 2013

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia junior guard Joe Harris (Chelan, Wash.) was named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association’s All-District III Team, announced Tuesday (March 12) by the USBWA.

Harris, who earned All-Atlantic Coast Conference first-team honors, ranks fourth in the ACC in scoring at 17 points per game, including 18.4 ppg in ACC play (second in the league). Harris has nine 20-point games this season, including a career-high 36 points vs. Duke on Feb. 28, which is tied for the ACC single-game high this season. Harris is the only ACC player ranked in the top 10 in 3-point field goal percentage (1st), free throw percentage (8th) and field goal percentage (9th).

Harris becomes the 12th Cavalier to earn All-District III honors, joining Bryant Stith (1990-92), Cory Alexander (1993), Junior Burrough (1994-95), Harold Deane (1995), Chris Williams (2000), Roger Mason, Jr. (2002), Travis Watson (2002-03), Sean Singletary (2006-08), J.R. Reynolds (2007), Sylven Landesberg (2010) and Mike Scott (2012).

Duke’s Mason Plumlee is the USBWA’s District III Player of the Year. Joining Harris and Plumlee on the USBWA’s All-District III Team are Reggie Bullock (North Carolina), Lorenzo Brown (NC State), Seth Curry (Duke), Erick Green (Virginia Tech), Richard Howell (NC State), Alex Len (Maryland), James Michael McAdoo (North Carolina) and Stan Okoye (VMI).

The Cavaliers (21-10, 11-7 ACC) finished fourth in the conference and received a first round bye at this week’s ACC Tournament. Virginia opens the tournament on Friday against either No. 5 seed NC State or No. 12 seed Virginia Tech. Tipoff is slated for 2 p.m. at the Greensboro Coliseum.

Print Friendly Version