Story Links

Jan. 10, 2014

media-icon-photogallery.gifBrian Photo Gallery | media-icon-photogallery.gifHermann Trophy Photo Gallery | Watch Swanson’s Intro of Morgan

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Virginia junior midfielder Morgan Brian (St. Simons Island, Ga.) been named the winner of the 2013 Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy, the most prestigious individual honor in collegiate soccer. Brian was presented this year’s award during a banquet Friday night at the club in downtown St. Louis.

Brian was honored along with of Patrick Mullins of Maryland, who was the men’s recipient of the award. The winners were decided by a vote of NCAA Division I soccer coaches whose programs are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA), along with a fan vote that cumulatively counted as the equivalent of one coach’s vote. Crystal Dunn of North Carolina was the runner-up for the women’s award and Abby Dahlkamper of UCLA was third in the voting.

“Winning this award means a lot to me,” said Brian. “As they said during the presentation, this is the most prestigious award in college soccer. To end such an unbelievable season for our team with this honor is humbling. When you see all the jerseys at the club of the past winners, players like Mia Hamm and Kristine Lilly, it is exciting to join this group.”

Brian, who also earned Soccer America and Player of the Year honors this season, is the first national player of the year in program history. She tied for the ACC scoring lead this season with 46 points on 16 goals and a league-high 14 assists. A first-team NSCAA All-American, she tied the Virginia single-season assist record. Brian scored in all four of the Cavaliers’ NCAA Tournament victories as she led the team to its first College Cup appearance in 22 years. Brian was a first-team All-ACC selection for the third consecutive season, in addition to being named to the ACC All-Tournament Team and the All-NCAA Tournament Team. She also made three appearances for the United States Women’s National Team in 2013, scoring her first international goal against Mexico on Sept. 3.

“This is an incredible honor for Morgan, especially when you consider the quality of the finalists, Abby and Crystal, and the seasons they have had,” said Virginia head coach Steve Swanson. “In fact, I think what makes this so special for Morgan is knowing that there were so many quality players who had outstanding years for their teams throughout the country and were nominated for this prestigious award. Everyone associated with the University of Virginia and Virginia Athletics, especially her teammates and coaches who interact with her almost daily, is extremely proud of Morgan Brian. Given her year and the qualities she possesses as a person, player, leader and teammate, we could not think of a more fitting way to honor her contributions to our team this season than being presented with the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy.”

Brian is the fifth Virginia player to receive the crystal ball as the nation’s top player, joining the four Cavalier men to be named Hermann Trophy winners: Tony Meola (1989), Claudio Reyna (1993), Mike Fisher (1995 and 1996) and Alecko Eskandarian (2002). Virginia becomes just the third school to produce both a men’s and women’s Hermann Trophy winner, joining Notre Dame and Penn State.

Print Friendly Version