Story Links

Feb. 25, 2014

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Four Virginia student-athletes have been honored with 2014 ACC Postgraduate Awards, as announced Tuesday by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. Jon Fausey (wrestling), Molly Menchel (women’s soccer), Kate Norbo (women’s soccer) and Thomas Porter (men’s cross country/track & field) are part of a list of 50 ACC student-athletes who have been selected for the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award. Menchel was one of six ACC student-athletes to earn an honorary award.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker postgraduate scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community. An additional six student-athletes who plan to enter a professional career in their chosen sport were named honorary recipients.

The 50 student-athletes will be honored at the annual ACC Postgraduate Luncheon presented by ESPN on April 16, 2014, in the Guilford Ballroom at the Sheraton Greensboro at the Four Seasons.

Fausey (Dalmatia, Pa.) is a three-time qualifier for the NCAA Wrestling Championships. The 2012 ACC champion at 184 pounds, Fausey has won 96 career matches, which ranks 10th in program history. He has been named to the NWCA All-Academic Team three times and the ACC Academic Honor Roll four times. Fausey has served as a council member with the Student-Athlete Mentor program. He also is a member of the 4th Year Trustees and coordinates children’s hospital visits. Fausey is currently finishing his master’s degree in exercise physiology and will attend Yale’s Physicians Assistant school next year.

Menchel (Alexandria, Va.), a three-year starter at left back, is Virginia’s all-time leading scorer among defenders, recording 13 goals and 17 assists for 43 points during her career. Eight of her 13 career goals were game-winners. In 2013, she was a second-team NSCAA All-Southeast Region honoree and a third-team All-ACC selection as the Cavaliers had an undefeated regular season and made their first trip to the College Cup in 22 years. A two-time ACC All-Academic Team selection, she was a 2013 second-team NSCAA Scholar All-American. Menchel was the selected by the Washington Spirit in the third round of the NWSL Draft with the 26th overall selection.

Norbo (Roanoke, Va.), a two-year starter in the midfield, was a key player among some of the most successful Virginia women’s soccer teams. In 2013, she started 25 of 26 contests, recording one goal and two assists, as the Cavaliers had an undefeated regular season and made their first trip to the College Cup in 22 years. In 2012, Norbo was named to the ACC All-Academic Team after tallying career highs in goals (six) and assists (four) as Virginia won the ACC Championship. She is a four-time selection to the ACC Academic Honor Roll.

Porter (Fredericksburg, Va.), a 2013 Outdoor Track & Field All-American, has been a top performer for the Cavaliers in both cross country and track & field. He has earned All-ACC honors in cross country, indoor track & field and outdoor track & field during his career. In 2013, he placed 16th in the men’s 5000m at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships to earn second-team All-America honors. This fall, he helped Virginia finish 13th at the NCAA Cross Country Championships, finishing in 63rd place. He has earned All-Academic honors from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) twice in cross country and once in track & field.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, the first three ACC commissioners. The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today.

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Print Friendly Version