Story Links

Feb. 28, 2014

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the watch list for the heralded Tewaaraton Trophy, awarded to the top male collegiate lacrosse player. Four Virginia men’s lacrosse players find themselves on a list that represents 21 different schools. Senior attackman Mark Cockerton, senior midfielder Rob Emery, senior midfielder Chris LaPierre and senior defenseman Scott McWilliams have been named to the preseason watch list.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Cockerton (Oshawa, Ontario) was a third-team USILA All-American in 2013 after finishing No. 2 in the nation in goals scored per game (3.5). Currently Cockerton’s 18 goals lead the nation.

Emery (San Francisco, Calif.) is a two-time USILA All-American and a 2014 candidate for the Senior CLASS Award. Emery owns 65 career goals, which currently ranks No. 14 all-time at UVa among midfielder goal scorers.

LaPierre (Medford, N.J.) is a two-time USILA All-American and All-ACC honoree. The fifth-year senior returns to UVa after missing most of 2013 with an injury, which resulted in a medical hardship. One of the nation’s most feared short-stick defensive midfielder can also score, owning 21 career goals and 39 career points.

McWilliams (Mountain Lakes, N.J.) is a two-time USILA All-American and has missed only one start in his four years at UVa. McWilliams was No. 2 in the nation in 2013 with 36 caused turnovers and has accumulated 70 career caused turnovers during his time on Grounds.

Virginia has three different former players that have won the prestigious trophy, the most in the award’s history that dates back to 2001. Chris Rotelli (2003), Matt Ward (2006) and Steele Stanwick (2011) represent UVa’s Tewaaraton winners, all earning the trophy in a season the Cavaliers won the NCAA title. Overall UVa has had 10 Tewaaraton Trophy finalists, which ranks No. 2 all-time among schools and one finalist behind Syracuse (11).

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Additions will be announced on March 20 and April 10. On April 24, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions for players who earn a spot. Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 8 and will be invited to the May 29 ceremony in Washington.

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent.

Print Friendly Version