Story Links

Nov. 13, 2014

Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia’s Eric Bird (Sr., Virginia Beach, Va.) and Todd Wharton (Jr., Glen Allen, Va.) each have been named to the 2014 All-ACC Men’s Soccer Team, released Thursday by the conference office. Bird notched first-team honors, while Wharton was a third-team selection. In addition, Jake Rozhansky (Fr., Germantown, Md.) earned a spot on the ACC All-Freshman Team.

The All-ACC Team is voted on by the league’s 12 head coaches.

The anchor of the Cavaliers’ midfield, Bird was named to the all-conference team for the second straight year after earning second-team honors last season. A preseason nominee to the Hermann Trophy Watch List, Bird has led the Cavaliers with five goals and 12 points this season.

Wharton was selected to the All-ACC team for the first time. He has scored two goals and added a pair of assists while playing at holding midfielder this season. Wharton delivered the game-winning penalty kick in the Cavaliers’ win over Virginia Tech in the first round of the ACC tournament.

Rozhansky has been impressive while patrolling the Cavaliers’ midfield during his rookie season, starting 17 of the 18 matches and recording three assists.

Virginia (10-6-2) is off this weekend and is awaiting its postseason destination. The NCAA tournament selection show is slated for 1 p.m. Monday on

2014 All-ACC Team
First Team

Sean Davis, Sr., M, Duke
Ben Strong, Jr., M, Louisville
Andy Craven, Sr., F, North Carolina
Omar Holness, So., M, North Carolina
Boyd Okwuonu, Sr., D, North Carolina
Nick Besler, Sr., M, Notre Dame
Patrick Hodan, Jr., M, Notre Dame
Alex Bono, Jr., GK, Syracuse
Emil Ekblom, So., F, Syracuse
Eric Bird, Sr., M, Virginia
Michael Gamble, Jr., F, Wake Forest

Second Team
Zeiko Lewis, So., F, Boston College
Paul Clowes, Jr., M, Clemson
Kyle Fisher, Jr., D, Clemson
Phanuel Kavita, Sr., D, Clemson
Tim Kubel, Fr., D, Louisville
Brendan Moore, Sr., GK, North Carolina
Luke Mishu, Sr., D, Notre Dame
Julian Buescher, Fr., M, Syracuse
Skylar Thomas, Sr., D, Syracuse
Ricardo John, Fr., F, Virginia Tech
Ian Harkes, So., M, Wake Forest

Third Team
Manolo Sanchez, Sr., F, Clemson
Andrew Tarbell, So., GK, Clemson
Brody Huitema, So., F, Duke
Zachary Mathers, Jr., D, Duke
Ricardo Velazco, Jr., F, Louisville
Holden Fender, Jr., M, NC State
Jonathan Campbell, Jr., D, North Carolina
Raby George, Jr., M, North Carolina
Rob Lovejoy, Sr., F, North Carolina
Andrew O’Malley, Gr., D, Notre Dame
Patrick Wall, Gr., GK, Notre Dame
Todd Wharton, Jr., M, Virginia

ACC All-Freshman Team
Markus Fjortoft, Fr., D, Duke
Cameron Moseley, Fr., F, Duke
Tim Kubel, Fr., D, Louisville
Zach Knudson, Fr., M, NC State
Alan Winn, Fr., F, North Carolina
Jeffrey Farina, Fr., F, Notre Dame
Jon Gallagher, Fr., F, Notre Dame
Julian Buescher, Fr., M, Syracuse
Jake Rozhansky, Fr., M, Virginia
Ricardo John, Fr., F, Virginia Tech
Kris Reaves, Fr., D, Wake Forest

Offensive Player of the Year – Patrick Hodan, Jr., M, Notre Dame
Midfielder of the Year – Sean Davis, Sr., M, Duke
Defensive Player of the Year – Alex Bono, Jr., GK, Syracuse
Freshman of the Year – Tim Kubel, Fr., D, Louisville
Coach of the Year – Ian McIntyre, Syracuse

Print Friendly Version