Story Links

May 11, 2015

Charlottesville, Va. – The Atlantic Coast Conference announced today Virginia senior men’s golfer Denny McCarthy (Rockville, Md.) and sophomore teammate Derek Bard (New Hartford, N.Y.) have been named to the 2015 All-ACC team.

McCarthy becomes the first player in the program’s history to earn All-ACC honors in four consecutive seasons. Only 16 ACC players have ever earned all-conference honors all four years of their careers.

McCarthy leads the Cavaliers in stroke average at 70.69 through 26 rounds this season. He ranks No. 4 in the ACC in stroke average and is No. 43 in the Golfweek standings and ranked No. 56 by Golfstat. He posted his third top-10 finish at the ACC Championships, placing seventh at 7-under 209. He had runner-up finishes at the Bank of Tennessee Intercollegiate and the U.S. Collegiate. He shot 9-under 63 during the opening round of the U.S. Collegiate to tie the UVa single-round scoring mark.

Bard was named All-ACC for the first time in his career. He is second on the team with a 70.91 stroke average which ranks No. 8 in the ACC. He enters this week’s NCAA Regional ranked No. 34 by Golfstat and No. 62 by Golfweek. A total of 24 of his 32 rounds this season have been par or better. He picked up his first career victory when he won the U.S. Collegiate and had four other top-10 finishes this season.

Virginia opens play at the 2015 NCAA Regional Championship in San Diego this Thursday.

The All-ACC team and league individual golfer awards were determined by using a combination of the rankings from Golfstat and Golfweek. The coach of the year was voted on by the ACC coaches.

2015 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team
(Listed alphabetically by school)

Jack Maguire, Florida State
Hank Lebioda, Florida State
Rowin Caron, Florida State
Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech
Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Louisville
Ben Griffin, North Carolina
Derek Bard, Virginia
Denny McCarthy, Virginia
Trevor Cone, Virginia Tech
Scott Vincent, Virginia Tech
Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest

Player of the Year
Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech

Freshman of the Year
Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest

Coach of the Year
Trey Jones, Florida State

Print Friendly Version