Story Links

Sept. 18, 2015

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – In a fall tradition, Virginia men’s lacrosse head coach Dom Starsia announced team award winners from the 2015 season. Ryan Tucker headlines the honorees as the winner of the Allen Voshell Award for Team MVP.

“It gives me great pleasure to announce our team award winners for this past 2015 season,” said Starsia. “A young team to start the season that lost its three top defensemen and two returning face-off men before the opening face-off, and a returning All-American attackman before the first conference game surpassed all preseason predictions and earned a home game in the NCAA Tournament. In almost every individual instance, the players on this team had their best seasons. Extraordinary leadership by a small group of seniors and captains led the way. There was much to be proud of in 2015.”

The Class of ’99 Unsung Hero Award went to Tyler German, while the Doyle Smith Award for highest GPA went to Owen Van Arsdale, who registered a 3.77 GPA in the Curry School of Education. Van Arsdale also was awarded the Harry Gaver Award for Leadership.

Other awards winners include Matt Barrett (Defensive MVP), Greg Coholan (Offensive MVP) and Michael Howard (Most Improved). Rounding out the honorees was Will McNamara (Will Rixey Award for Spirit) and Davi Sacco (Lawrie Riggs Award for Citizenship). Greg Traynor, a four-year letterwinner from 1992-95, was awarded the Tommy Compton Award for alumni contribution.

Virginia will play the annual alumni game on Sat., Sept. 26 at noon on the practice turf field.

Print Friendly Version