June 20, 2016

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Four members of UVA’s men’s lacrosse team were named to the 2016 All-ACC Academic Men’s Lacrosse Team, announced by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. Rising junior attackman Mike D’Amario, rising junior defenseman Scott Hooper, rising junior faceoff specialist Jason Murphy and rising senior defenseman Tanner Scales all were honored on the academic team. It is the first career honors for all four Cavaliers.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

D’Amario (Niskayuna, N.Y.) started 14 of UVA’s 15 games and scored 16 goals, while adding four assists. D’Amario made sure the Doyle Smith Cup stayed in Charlottesville when he scored in overtime against Johns Hopkins.

Hooper (Wakefield, R.I.) was second in the ACC with 1.53 caused turnovers per game. He started all 15 games at close defense and picked up 26 ground balls.

Murphy (Vienna, Va.) ranked No. 2 in the ACC and No. 9 nationally with a 63.4 percent faceoff win mark. He also added one goal and one assist to go with his 38 ground balls.

Scales (Denver, Colo.) started 14 games, collected 36 ground balls and caused 15 turnovers at close defense. Scales missed one game of UVA’s 15 games with an injury.