Perrantes Bio | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Oct. 17, 2016

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia’s London Perrantes (Los Angeles) was one of 20 players named to the watch list for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by the College of Holy Cross, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Monday (Oct. 17).

Perrantes earned All-ACC honorable mention honors last season after helping Virginia to a 29-8 record and an NCAA Elite Eight appearance. Perrantes led the ACC in 3-point shooting at a career-best 48.8 percent and averaged 11 points and 4.4 assists. Perrantes scored in double figures in 18 games, including a season-high 22 points (career-best seven 3-pointers) at Virginia Tech. He was named MVP of the 2015 Gildan Charleston Classic, ACC All-Tournament Second Team and NCAA Midwest Regional All-Tournament team. Perrantes, who ranks seventh all-time at UVA with 441 career assists, was also named to the 2015 Cousy Award preseason watch list.

Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

For more information on the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross, log onto