Oct. 31, 2017

Singles Bracket | Doubles Bracket | Live Scoring

PALM DESERT, Calif. – Sophomore Rosie Johanson and junior Meghan Kelley of the Virginia women’s tennis team begin competition Wednesday (Nov. 1) at the ITA Fall National Championships with matches played at the JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort and at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

Johanson (Abbotsford, British Columbia) will begin competition in the women’s field of 64 in singles, while she will team with Kelley (Falmouth, Maine) in the women’s field of 32 in doubles. Johanson’s opening singles match will be played at 1 p.m. ET against Camile Gbaguidi of SCAD (Savannah College of Art and Design). In doubles play, Johanson and Kelley will face Hada Chang and Julia O’Laughlin of Denver at 5:30 p.m. ET.

Johanson qualified for the ITA Fall National Championships in singles by turning in a runner-up finish at the ITA Atlantic Regional. She and Kelley won the same event in doubles, defeating teammates Cassie Mercer (Huntington, W.V.) and Teodora Radosavljevic (Belgrade, Serbia) in an all UVA final.

Links to live scoring will be available at VirginiaSports.com.

The 2017 Oracle ITA National Fall Championships, which serves as the concluding event to the fall portion of the college tennis schedule, is the only intercollegiate event to feature competitors from all five divisions competing for a national championship.

To be considered for an at-large selection in singles, a player must have reached the quarterfinals of the Oracle ITA Masters, the Round of 16 of the All-American Championships or the quarterfinals of an ITA Regional Championship Presented by Oracle. At-large singles selections were based on each players’ ITA/UTR Rankings Average. This average is a combination of a players’ ITA preseason national ranking, Universal Tennis Rating and ITA mid-season unpublished ranking.

Of the 10 at-large doubles selections, six were made by the National Tournament Committee from the pool of regional finalists who submitted for consideration. The remaining four selections were made by the National Tournament Committee from the remaining pool of regional finalists, All-American quarterfinalists and regional semifinalists who submitted for consideration.