Feb. 28, 2018

Facebook | Twitter| Instagram | NCAA Release

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The No. 7 Virginia women’s swimming and diving team qualified 12 student-athletes for individual events at the 2018 NCAA Championships at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion in Columbus, Ohio, March 14-17. Virginia qualified all five relay teams for the 10th straight season.

The Cavaliers will be represented by seniors Caitlin Cooper (Atlanta, Ga.), Jennifer Marrkand (Westford, Mass), Laine Reed (Austin, Texas) and Cece Williams (Tallahassee, Fla.), junior Eryn Eddy (Loveland, Colo.), redshirt sophomore Megan Moroney (Deerfield Beach, Fla.), sophomore Morgan Hill (Olney, Md.) and freshmen Erin Earley (Orange, Conn.), Paige Madden (Mobile, Ala.), Abby Ricther (Henderson, Nev.), Emma Seiberlich (Audubon, Pa) and Kyla Valls (Miami, Fla.).

At last year’s NCAA Championships, the Cavaliers placed 12th with 149 points. Virginia recorded eight All-American swims. Marrkand returns as the only individual All-American honoree from last year’s team. An eight-time All-American, Marrkand will lead the team alongside seven-time All-American honoree Cooper. Both student-athletes will appear in their fourth NCAA Championships.

Eddy will compete in the national meet for the third time in her career, while Hill will make her second appearance. Eddy earned All-American with the 2017 400-yard freestyle relay team, while Hill earned the honor with the 2017 800-yard freestyle relay team and the 200-yard freestyle relay team.

After redshirting last season, Moroney will head to her second NCAA championships, competing in three events. She earned five All-American honors in 2016, including individual honors in the 200-yard freestyle and the 200-yard backstroke.

Williams advanced to the NCAA Championships in 2015, earning All-American with the 800-yard freestyle relay team, while Reed will make her first NCAA appearance.

Additionally, five freshmen will compete for the Cavaliers. Madden will pace the group with three individual events, while Richter will compete in two individual events.

ESPNU will broadcast the finals on Friday beginning at 5 p.m. while Saturday’s final session will be broadcasted on ESPN3 beginning at 6 p.m. The remaining sessions will be streamed on the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships microsite www.ohiostatebuckeyes.com.

Virginia’s Individual Qualifiers

Caitlin Cooper – Atlanta, Ga.
50-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle

Erin Earley- Orange, Conn.
200-yard backstroke

Eryn Eddy- Loveland, Colo.
100-yard freestyle, 200-yard freestyle

Morgan Hill- Olney, Md.
50-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard freestyle

Paige Madden- Mobile, Ala.
200-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle, 200-yard backstroke

Jennifer Marrkand- Westford, Mass.
200-yard freestyle, 500-yard freestyle, 200-yard butterfly

Megan Moroney- Deerfield Beach, Fla.
200-yard freestyle, 100-yard backstroke, 200-yard backstroke

Laine Reed- Austin, Texas
50-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle

Abby Richter- Henderson, Nev.
200-yard individual medley, 200-yard backstroke

Emma Seiberlich- Audubon, Pa.
200-yard backstroke

Kyla Valls- Miami, Fla.
200-yard freestyle

Cece Wiliams- Tallahassee, Fla.
1650-yard freestyle