CSCAA Release

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Nineteen members of the Virginia men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams were named to the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America’s 2018-19 Scholar All-American Team as seven Cavaliers earned the honor from the men’s team and 12 were named from the women’s team, the league announced on Tuesday (July 2).

Redshirt senior Brendan Casey (Santa Monica, Calif.), seniors Alex Albracht (Mission Hills, Kan.) and Bryce Keblish (Fairfield, Conn.), juniors Joe Clark (Worcester Park, Great Britain), Ted Schubert (Ashland, Va.) and Bryce Shelton (Vienna, Va.), and freshman Justin Grender (Cincinnati, Ohio) earned the academic and athletic honor off the men’s team.

Seniors Eryn Eddy (Loveland, Colo.), Vivian Tafuto (Hummelstown, Pa.) and Kylie Towbin (New Canaan, Conn.), redshirt junior Megan Moroney (Deerfield Beach, Fla.), sophomores Caroline Gmelich (Rumson, N.J.), Paige Madden (Mobile, Ala.), Emma Seiberlich (Audubon, Pa.) and Kyla Valls (Miami, Fla.), and freshman Julia Menkhaus (Charlotte, N.C.) captured the honor from the women’s team.

Seniors Kirsten Parkinson (Stamford, Conn.) and Rachel Politi (Bexley, Ohio), and sophomore Erin Earley (Orange, Conn.) were honorable mention selections.

To be selected to the CSCAA Scholar All-America Team, swimmers and divers must have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and have participated in their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. Honorable Mention selections have similarly achieved a GPA of 3.50 and achieved a “B” time standard or competed at their respective qualifying meets.

Men’s Team
Alex Albracht
Brendan Casey
Joe Clark
Justin Grender
Bryce Keblish
Ted Schubert
Bryce Shelton

Women’s Team
Eryn Eddy
Caroline Gmelich
Paige Madden
Julia Menkhaus
Megan Moroney
Emma Seiberlich
Vivian Tafuto
Kylie Towbin
Kyla Valls
Erin Earley (HM)
Kirsten Parkinson (HM)
Rachel Politi (HM)

" "