CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Nine Cavaliers from the Virginia men’s and women’s track and field teams were named to the All-ACC Indoor Track and Field Academic Team, the league office announced on Friday (April 17).
The men’s team had six student-athletes recognized for their athletic and academic performance during the season with seniors AJ Ernst (Marblehead, Mass.) and Sam Young (Lewes, Del.), junior Jordan Willis (Williamsburg, Va.), sophomore Owayne Owens (Montego Bay, Jamaica), and freshmen Elby Omohundro (Midlothian, Va.) and Derek Pekar (Ventura, Calif.) being named to the team. Junior Halle Hazzard (Commack, N.Y.), sophomore Alix Still (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) and freshman Jada Seaman (Pikesville, Md.) were named honorees from the women’s team.
Three Cavaliers won conference titles at the 2020 ACC Indoor Conference Championships. Seaman won the ACC title in the long jump, setting a UVA record and recording the sixth-best jump in the NCAA this season. Young became Virginia’s first male pole vault champion since 1958 and set a UVA record at the meet. Pekar captured Virginia’s second ever ACC title in the heptathlon, recording the second-highest score in program history.
Owens and Ernst earned first-team All-ACC honors at the conference meet with a second-place finish in the triple jump and mile, respectively. Omohundro, Willis and Still were second-team All-ACC honorees. Omohundro placed fourth in the heptathlon, Willis placed fifth in the 400m dash and Still placed sixth in the pentathlon. Hazzard rounded out the list for the Cavaliers, running the 17th-best time in the NCAA this season in the 60m dash.
To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his or her academic career.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released at a later date.
2019-20 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team
Devon Brooks, Clemson, Jr., Communication
Lafranz Campbell, Clemson, Jr., Communication
Grant Voeks, Clemson, Gr., Civil Engineering
Cole Rowan, Duke, So., Political Science
Jacob Sobota, Duke, Jr., Economics
Matt Wisner, Duke, Sr., Public Policy
Trey Cunningham, Florida State, Jr., Public Relations
Kyle Fearrington, Florida State, Sr., Sport Management
Bert Freire, Florida State, Sr., Finance
Kasey Knevelbaard, Florida State, Gr., Sport Management
Dante Newberg, Florida State, Gr., Sport Management
Caleb Parker, Florida State, Sr., Social Science
Andrew Kent, Georgia Tech, Sr. Mechanical Engineering
Christian Buckley, Louisville, Gr., Bioengineering
Madias Loper, North Carolina, Fr., Exercise & Sport Science/Sport Administration
Alex Milligan, North Carolina, Sr., Business Administration
Jamar Davis, NC State, So., Business Administration
Ian Shanklin, NC State, So., Business Administration
Yared Nuguse, Notre Dame, Jr., Biochemistry
Edward Cheatham, Notre Dame, Gr., Business Analytics
Colton Crum, Notre Dame, So., Business Analytics
Dylan Jacobs, Notre Dame, So., Business Analytics
Sam Voelz, Notre Dame, Jr., Economics
Tyler Garland, Syracuse, Jr., Communication & Rhetorical Studies
AJ Ernst, Virginia, Sr., History
Elby Omohundro, Virginia, Fr., Undeclared
Owayne Owens, Virginia, So., Undeclared
Derek Pekar, Virginia, Fr., Undeclared
Jordan Willis, Virginia, Jr., Computer Science
Sam Young, Virginia, Sr., M.Ed in Higher Education
Joey Badalamenti, Virginia Tech, Fr., Business
Patrick Forrest, Virginia Tech, Jr., Finance
Jack Joyce, Virginia Tech, Sr., Business
Antonio Lopez Segura, Virginia Tech, So., General Engineering
Bashir Mosavel-Lo, Virginia Tech, Jr., Industrial & Systems Engineering
Alexios Prodanas, Virginia Tech, Jr., Mathematics
Jacob Rice, Virginia Tech, So., Mechanical Engineering
Tyreke Sapp, Virginia Tech, So., Creative Technology
Peter Seufer, Virginia Tech, Gr., Finance
Diego Zarate, Virginia Tech, Sr., Criminology
Zach Facioni, Wake Forest, So., Economics
Andrew White, Wake Forest, So., Politics & International Affairs
2019-20 All-ACC Academic Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team
Lauren White, Boston College, Jr., International Studies
Emeline Delanis, Boston College, Gr., Leadership & Administration
Laurie Barton, Clemson, Sr., Health Science
Nicolee Foster, Clemson, Jr., Park, Rec & Tourism Mgt.
Veronica Fraley, Clemson, So., Health Science
Rebekah Smith, Clemson, Gr., Human Resource Development
Brittany Aveni, Duke, Sr., Evolutionary Anthropology
Elasia Campbell, Duke, Fr., Undeclared
Erin Marsh, Duke, Jr., Psychology
Cassie Martin, Duke, Sr., Sociology
Kelcie Simmons, Duke, So., Sociology
Michaela Reinhart, Duke, Jr., IDM: Public Policy
Janae Caldwell, Florida State, Sr., Theatre
Jayla Kirkland, Florida State, Jr., Sport Management
Nadia Maffo, Florida State, Sr., International Affairs
Maudie Skyring, Florida State, Jr., Exercise Physiology
Bria Matthews, Georgia Tech, Gr., Electrical & Computer Engineering
Anna Witherspoon, Georgia Tech, Fr., Business Administration
Makenli Forrest, Louisville, Jr., Health & Human Performance in Exercise Science
Alexis Gibbons, Louisville, Sr., Health & Human Performance in Exercise Science
Halee Hudson, Louisville, Gr., Exercise Physiology
Gabriela Leon, Louisville, Jr., Health & Human Performance in Exercise Science
Auriane Viola, Louisville, Fr., Marketing
Dorcas Wasike, Louisville, Sr., Nursing
Aliyah Welter, Louisville, So., Exercise Science & Sport Administration
Debbie Ajagbe, Miami, Jr., Mechanical Engineering
Brittny Ellis, Miami, Gr., Health Informatics
Sherry Lubin, Miami, Sr., Psychology
Amuru Patterson, Miami, Jr., Human & Social Development
Jacious Sears, Miami, Fr., Human Resource Management
Alfreda Steele, Miami, Gr., Liberal Studies
Anna Keefer, North Carolina, Jr., Communication Studies
Kelsey Chmiel, NC State, Fr., Animal Science
Michelle Cobb, NC State, Jr., Nutrition Sciences
Savannah Shaw, NC State, Jr., Business Administration
Anna Vess NC State, Sr., Biological Sciences
Rachel Tanczos, Notre Dame, Jr., Theology & Psychology
Rachel DaDamio, Notre Dame, Gr., Applied & Computational Math & Statistics
Maddy Denner, Notre Dame, So., Applied & Computational Math & Statistics
Naya Sharp, Notre Dame, Sr., Political Science
Eddita Pessima, Pitt, So., Undeclared
Breanna Phillips, Pitt, Jr., Applied Developmental Psychology
Nikki Scherer, Pitt, Jr., Communication: Rhetoric & Communications
Halle Hazzard, Virginia, Jr., English
Jada Seaman, Virginia, Fr., Undeclared
Alix Still, Virginia, So., Undeclared
Lauren Berman, Virginia Tech, Gr., Mechanical Engineering
Grace Boone, Virginia Tech, Fr., Biological Sciences
Lindsey Butler, Virginia Tech, So., General Engineering
Sarah Edwards, Virginia Tech, Sr., Interior Design
Sara Freix, Virginia Tech, Sr., Biological Systems Engineering
Nykah Smith, Virginia Tech, So., Human Nutrition, Foods & Exercise
Anna Bush, Wake Forest, So. Psychology
Amy Harding-Delooze, Wake Forest, So., Communication
Johanna Schulz, Wake Forest, Gr., Business
BOLD denotes ACC Indoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year