CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The men’s and women’s swimming teams posted five event wins and sophomore Kate Douglass (Pelham, N.Y.) set a UVA and ACC record in time trials on the second day of the 2021 Cavalier Invitational on Saturday evening at the Aquatic & Fitness Center.


Sophomore Kate Douglass (Pelham, N.Y.) swam the fifth-fastest time in history and set an ACC and UVA record with a time of 2:03.93 in the 200-yard breaststroke time trials following the morning prelims.

Senior Caroline Gmelich (Rumson, N.J.) set a season-best time of 52.29 to win the finals in the 100-yard butterfly. Freshman Reilly Tiltmann (Brookfield, Wis.) also posted a season-best time, clocking in at 53.50 in the finals to drop two seconds off her best time from the prelims.

Junior Carter Bristow (Richmond, Va.) took second in the 200-yard freestyle in 1:51.94.

Freshman Anna Keating (Vienna, Va.) won the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:00.10. Junior Alexis Wenger (Detroit, Mich.) finished just two seconds off an “A” qualifying time in the prelims with her season-best swim of 58.62 in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Sophomore Katie Cronin (Gainesville, Fla.) won the 100-yard backstroke in 55.36.


Sophomore Henry Schutte (Grand Rapids, Mich.) swam a season-best time of 48.57 in the finals of the 100-yard butterfly.

Freshman Tanner Hering (Greensboro, N.C.) placed third in the 400 IM with a time of 3:56.49.

UVA took the top three spots in the 200-yard freestyle. Sophomore Sean Conway (Roundhill, Va.) won the event with a time of 1:37.14. Freshman Jan Karolczak (Warszawa, Poland) took second (1:37.92) and freshman Jack Moore (Ashburn, Va.0 clocked in at 1:38.54 to take third.

The Cavaliers also swept the 100-yard breaststroke, with senior Keefer Barnum (Louisville, Ky.) taking the win in 52.40. Freshman Noah Nichols (Midlothian, Va.) was second with his season-best time of 52.94. Senior Matt Otto (Newark, Del.) also recorded a season-best swim with a 53.26 to take third.


Virginia will close out the Cavalier Invitational on Sunday. Prelims begin at 12 p.m. and finals are set for 5 p.m.