CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – The brackets and pre-seeds for the 2021 ACC Wrestling Championships were released by the conference office on Tuesday (Feb. 23) and Virginia has three wrestlers slated to receive first-round byes in the annual event.

The Championships will be wrestled on Sunday (Feb. 28) at NC State’s Reynolds Coliseum and pre-seeds and brackets are subject to change until noon on Saturday.

Due to restrictions imposed by the Covid-19 pandemic, there is no public sale of tickets for this year’s event. However, ACC Network and ACC Network Extra plan nearly 10 hours of live coverage from 11 a.m. through 9 p.m. ACC Network Extra will stream the early and consolations rounds from both Mat 1 and Mat 2, with the 7 p.m. finals set for live linear broadcast on ACC Network. Links to all broadcasts will be available at

Jay Aiello (Chantilly, Va.), who claimed the 2020 ACC Championship at 197 pounds, is the two seed at 197 pounds for this year’s event, while Justin McCoy (New Paris, Pa.) and Quinn Miller (Lilburn, Ga.) are also seeded second at 157 pounds and heavyweight, respectively. All three will receive first-round byes due to their seeding.

First-round action kicks off the event at 11 a.m.  Semifinals are set for 1 p.m., followed by the consolation semifinals at 3:30 p.m. and the consolation finals at 5 p.m. Championship matches begin at 7 p.m., followed by the awards presentation.

Each weight class champion and runner-up at the 2021 ACC Championship will earn All-ACC recognition. In addition to ACC honors, student-athletes will be vying for berths and seeding in the 2021 NCAA Wrestling Championships, which will be held March 18-20 at Enterprise Center in St. Louis. The ACC has been awarded 33 automatic berths and is hopeful of earning several more at-large selections.

125: No. 4 seed Patrick McCormick
133: No. 4 seed Louie Hayes
141: No. 3 seed Brian Courtney
149: No. 5 seed Denton Spencer
157: No. 2 seed Justin McCoy
165: No. 3 seed Jake Keating
174: No. 3 seed Vic Marcelli
184: No. 4 seed Michael Battista
197: No. 2 seed Jay Aiello
HWT: No. 2 seed Quinn Miller