CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia women’s golfer Amanda Sambach is one of 12 players selected by the United States Golf Association to participate in a Curtis Cup practice session Jan. 19-20 at Seminole Golf Club in Juno Beach, Fla., and Pine Tree Golf Club in Boynton Beach, Fla.

The 43rd Curtis Cup Match will be held at Sunningdale (England) Golf Club from Aug. 30 to Sept. 1. The USA Curtis Cup Team has won the last three events.

An invitation to the Curtis Cup practice session does not guarantee selection to the eight-player USA Team. Players not invited will also be considered for inclusion on the team.

The Curtis Cup Match is contested by two teams of eight female amateur players, one from the United States of America and one from Great Britain and Ireland, which is comprised of England, the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. The USGA’s International Team Selection Working Group selects the USA Team, while The R&A selects the GB&I Team.

Sambach won the ACC individual championship last year and finished the season ranked No. 10 by Golfweek. She earned first-team All-America honors from Golfweek and was a second-team All-America by the Women’s Golf Coaches Association. Sambach set the UVA record for wins in a season with three. She opened the year by taking medalist honors at the ANNIKA Intercollegiate. She won the ACC Championships by shooting 14-under 202, which was the best performance in the event’s history and also set the Virginia 54-hole scoring record. At the NCAA Regional, she finished as co-medalist. Over the course of 10 tournaments, she posted five top-10 finishes.

Last summer she helped Team USA win the 2023 Arnold Palmer Cup, a Ryder Cup-style tournament featuring the top men’s and women’s university/college golfers matching the United States against a team of International players. During UVA’s 2023 fall season, Sambach posted three top-10 finishes

The other players invited to the practice session are Zoe Campos (UCLA), Gianna Clemente, Anna Davis (Auburn), Lane Frye (Kentucky), Rachel Kuehn (Wake Forest), Anna Morgan (Furman), Catherine Park (USC), Kiara Romero (Oregon), Megan Schofill (Auburn), Latanna Stone (LSU) and Yana Wilson (Oregon).