CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Virginia junior Gretchen Walsh (Nashville, Tenn.) was named the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America’s (CSCAA) Division I Women’s Swimmer of the Year and Todd DeSorbo was named Women’s Division I Swim Coach of the Year today. Last weekend Virginia won its fourth consecutive NCAA Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship.

It marks the third consecutive year a Cavalier swimmer has been honored with the award while DeSorbo was chosen coach of the year for the fourth consecutive season.

At the NCAAs, Walsh won three individual events (50 free, 100 free, 100 fly) and set the fastest times ever in those races. She also swam legs on all four of UVA’s championship replays teams – 200 free relay, 400 free relay, 200 medley relay and 400 medley relay.

DeSorbo led the Cavaliers to their fourth consecutive NCAA Championship, becoming just the third program in history to win four consecutive championships. This year UVA won 11 events, including seven individual titles and four relay championships. It marked the third consecutive year UVA has won a total of 11 titles at the championship. A total of five Cavaliers brought home gold medals led by Walsh’s seven first-place finishes. UVA had 13 of its 18 competitors earn first-team All-America honors during the meet.

DeSorbo is now tied for fourth among swim coaches in terms of all-time women’s NCAA team titles.

The awards were determined by a nationwide vote of CSCAA-member Division I head swimming coaches and head diving coaches.