Story Links

January 5, 1999

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Sophomore forward Chris Albright (Philadelphia, Pa./William Penn Charter) was named first-team All-America by College Soccer Weekly itwas announced Tuesday. Albright joins for other Cavaliers honored by thepublication.

Sophomore midfielder Jason Moore (Lawrenceville, Ga. / Parkview),who last month announced intentions to enter the MLS draft, nabbedsecond-team honors. Senior defender Matt Chulis (Central Islip, N.Y. /Central Islip) and senior midfielder Sam Franklin (Arlington, Va. /Yorktown) received honorable mention recognition.

Albright joined Indiana defender Nick Garcia as the only sophomoreson the first team. He became the first sophomore to lead UVa in scoring andpoints outright since Jeff Gaffney had 21 goals and 44 points in 1983.Albright notched just the fourth 20-goal season in school history with 20goals and 43 points, tied for fifth in school history.

Moore second on the team with seven assists and completed histwo-year UVa career with 16. Chulis was part of a stellar defense, whichposted 10 shutouts on the season. Franklin, who was forced to miss allthree Cavalier games in the NCAA Tournament because of a knee injurysuffered in the ACC Tournament, had four goals, all of which weregame-winners, to go along with one assist for nine points.

First team
G — Josh Campbell, Jr., Clemson
D — Jamie Clark, Sr., Stanford
D — Nick Garcia, So., Indiana
D/M Keith Beach, Sr., Maryland
M — Richard Mulrooney, Sr., Creighton
M — Lazo Alavanja, Sr., Indiana
M — Jay Heaps, Sr., Duke
M — Maurizio Rocha, Sr., UConn
F — Chris Albright, So., Virginia
F — Aleksey Korol, Jr., Indiana
F — Wojtek Krakowiak, Jr., Clemson

Second Team
G Adin Brown, Jr., William & Mary
D Eric Denton, Jr., Santa Clara
D Carlos Bocanegra, So., UCLA
D Tony Soto, Sr., SMU
M Jeff Bilyk, Sr., Clemson
M Simon Elliott, Sr., Stanford
M Mark Lisi, So., Clemson
M Jason Moore, So., Virginia
M Sasha Victorine, Jr., UCLA
F Taylor Twellman, Fr., Maryland
F Dema Kovalenko, Jr., Indiana

Third Team
G Adam Gross, So., Bradley
D Cory Gibbs, So., Brown
D Dan Parkin, Jr., St. John’s
D Lee Morrison, Fr., Stanford
D Jeremy Aldrich, Sr., Butler
M Yuri Lavrinenko, Jr., Indiana
M Scott Bower, Jr., Clemson
M Stefani Miglioranzi, Sr., St. John’s
F Ricardo Capilla, Jr., VCU
F Seth George, Sr., UCLA
F Bobby Rhine, Sr., UConn
F Siggi Eyjolfsson, Sr., UNC Greensboro

Honorable Mention (ACC players only)
D Matt Chulis, Sr., Virginia
D Chad Evans, Jr., Wake Forest
M Sam Franklin, Sr., Virginia
M Serge Daniv, Sr., Wake Forest
M Shaker Asad, So., N.C. State
F Chris Carreiri, Fr., North Carolina

Print Friendly Version