Story Links

May 27, 1998

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA – Six members of the University of Virginia men’s lacrosse team were named to the STX/USILA All-American team at this past weekend’s NCAA Lacrosse Tournament by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association. The team was selected by a committee of coaches chaired by an independent representative.

Ryan Curtis and Drew Melchionni were named to the second team, while David Wren was a third-team selection. The Virginia attack of Jay Jalbert, Drew McKnight and Tucker Radebaugh were honorable mention choices.

Curtis, a sophomore defenseman from Potomac, Md., spearheaded the Cavalier defense this season. He collected 19 groundballs and was typically assigned to cover the opponent’s top attackman.

Melchionni, a senior from Garden City, N.Y., was regarded as one of the top defensive midfielders in the country. An All-ACC choice in 1998, he scored a career-high 22 goals this season, third-best on the team.

Wren, a senior midfielder from Sudbury, Mass., was one of the team’s co-captains this season. He scored 18 goals this spring, including four against Syracuse in the NCAA Tournament quarterfinals.

Jalbert, a sophomore from Huntington, N.Y., led the team with 34 goals, eighth-most in school history. He scored five goals in a game twice this season-vs. North Carolina and Hobart.

McKnight, a sophomore from Virginia Beach, Va., quarterbacked the Virginia offense this season, finishing second in assists (24) and fourth in goals (19).

Radebaugh, a junior from Glen Arm, Md., is one of the most versatile players in the country. He moved to attack from the midfield this season and was the team’s leading scorer (56 points). He led the team in assists (26) and was second in goals (30). He joined Melchionni on the All-ACC team this season.

The complete All-America listing is below.First TeamAttackJon Hess        PrincetonJesse Hubbard   PrincetonCasey Powell    Syracuse

MidfieldScott Diggs DukeMark Frye LoyolaA.J. Haugen Johs HopkinsJosh Sims Princeton

DefenseChristian Cook PrincetonRob Doerr Johns HopkinsJamie Hanford Loyola

GoalBrian Carcaterra Johns HopkinsSecond TeamAttackJohn Fay DukeScott Hochstadt MarylandChris Massey PrincetonGreg McCavera Georgetown

MidfieldMatt Cutia SyracuseDrew Melchionni VirginiaLorne Smith PrincetonBrian Zeller Maryland

DefenseRyan Curtis VirginiaHarold Drumm MassachusettsJohn Harrington Princeton

GoalKevin Healy MarylandThird TeamAttackMatt Hahn MarylandRyan Powell SyracuseAndrew Whipple Maryland

MidfieldMike Battista LoyolaAndy Godfrey Johns HopkinsFrank Radin MarylandDavid Wren Virginia

DefenseSteve Card DukeKurt Lunkenheimer PrincetonTodd Rassas Notre Dame

GoalMark Spruyt – Hofstra

Honorable Mention
Attack: Dudley Dixon (Johns Hopkins), John Grant (Delaware), Mike Ferrucci (Harvard), Jay Jalbert (Virginia), Brian Langtry (Hofstra), Drew McKnight (Virginia), Tim O’Shea (Loyola), Tucker Radebaugh (Virginia), Dylan Schlott (Johns Hopkins), Gewas Schindler (Loyola), Chris Turner (UMBC)

Midfield: Justin Bowman (North Carolina), John DeWick (Brown), Mike Del Percio (Massachusetts), Patrick Dutton (Cornell), Greg Hubschmann (Georgetown), Cory Kahoun (Butler), James Keenan (Notre Dame), Tim Knowles (Duke), Matthew Kopley (Rutgers), Matt O’Kelly (Johns Hopkins), Brian Reese (Maryland), Todd Vizcarrondo (Loyola)

Defense: Marshall Abrams (Syracuse), Ken Conner (Maryland), Mike Day (Loyola), Chad Donnelly (Navy), Vincent Farraro (Yale), Chris Lamy (Maryland), Todd Maher (North Carolina), Jason Quenzer (UMBC), Jeff Psaki (Harvard), Kevin Sheedy (Syracuse)

Goal: John Kasselakis (Massachusetts), Fred Pawlikowski (Hobart), Joseph Pilch (Yale)

Print Friendly Version