Story Links

August 18, 1998

ONEONTA, N.Y. – University of Virginia men’s soccer players Matt Chulis (Central Islip, N.Y.) and Jason Moore (Lawrenceville, Ga.) have been named to the list of 15 finalists for the Hermann Trophy, awarded annually by the National Soccer Hall of Fame to the top collegiate soccer player in the nation. Virginia is joined by Duke, Indiana and UCLA as the only schools with more than one finalist.

Chulis, a 5-8 senior defender, has been an All-America selection by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America each of the last two seasons. He started 25 games for Virginia last season and played 2,267 minutes, the second highest total on the squad. The Cavaliers’ starting sweeper throughout his career, he led the squad to a team goals against average of 0.87 and eight shutouts in 1997. Chulis, who has also contributed to the Virginia offense with two goals and six assists during his first three years, was a first team All-Atlantic Coast Conference selection in both 1996 and 1997.

Moore, a 5-11 sophomore midfielder, had nine assists last season, the fifth most on the team. He was selected as the 1997 ACC Rookie of the Year, becoming only the second Virginia player to earn that honor, along with 1991 winner Claudio Reyna. Moore started 25 games for the Cavaliers in 1997 while playing 2,176 minutes, the fourth-highest total on the team. Moore was also named to the Soccer America and Soccer News National All-Freshman teams, and was selected to the All-Tournament team at the ACC Championship.

The winner of the 1998 Hermann Trophy will be announced on Saturday, December 12, in Richmond, Va. If either Chulis or Moore wins the Hermann Trophy, he would become the fourth player in school history to receive the honor. Tony Meola won the award in 1989, Reyna claimed the honor in 1993, and Mike Fisher received the trophy in both 1995 and 1996.

The Hermann Trophy is named after Robert R. Hermann of St. Louis, founding chairman of the North American Soccer League, and is displayed at the National Soccer Museum in Oneonta, N.Y. The first Hermann Trophy was presented in 1967 to Don Markus of Long Island University. A list of the finalists for the 1998 Hermann Trophy follows:

1998 Hermann Trophy FinalistsLazo Alavanja     Indiana        Midfielder  SeniorKeith Beach       Maryland       Midfielder  SeniorAdin Brown        William & Mary Goalkeeper  JuniorMatt Chulis       Virginia       Defender    SeniorNick Garcia       Indiana        Defender    SophomoreJay Heaps         Duke           Midfielder  SeniorDema Kovalenko    Indiana        Forward     JuniorWojtek Krakowiak  Clemson        Forward     JuniorJason Moore       Virginia       Midfielder  SophomoreRichard Mulrooney Creighton      Midfielder  SeniorAntonio Otero     American       Midfielder  SeniorMaurizio Rocha    Connecticut    Midfielder  SeniorSteve Shak        UCLA           Defender    JuniorSasha Victorine   UCLA           Midfielder  JuniorEvan Whitfield    Duke           Midfielder  Senior
Print Friendly Version