Story Links

May 22, 2000

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA.— The University of Virginia women’s lacrosse teamwas honored with three All-American selections as announced by the IWLCAtoday. Amy Fromal (Folsom, Pa./Ridley) repeats on the first team, whileStephy Samaras (Annapolis, Md./Annapolis) was named to the second team.Jamie Haas (Berwyn, Pa./Marple Newtown) is also a repeat selection, havingbeen named third team for the second consecutive season.

Fromal, who was a first-team All-American in 1999, led the team inground balls for the second consecutive year while ranking second on theteam in scoring with 50 points, which ranks 6th all-time at Virginia for afourth-year. Fromal led the team in goals with 38 and ranked second on theteam with 32 caused turnovers. A member of the USA National DevelopmentalTeam, she was named Virginia’s ACC Scholar-Athlete for the 1999-2000season. Fromal was a three-time All-ACC selection as well who started everygame in which she played, 77 in total, which ranks second all-time at UVA.

Samaras graduates as Virginia’s all-time leader in caused turnoverswith 122. A third-team All-American selection in 1999, Samaras led the teamthe last two seasons in caused turnovers and marshalled a defense that wasconsistenly in the top-10 in the nation. Her 41 caused turnovers ranksfourth all-time for a single season while her 54 last season ranks secondall-time for one season.

Haas led the team in scoring with 58 points (36g, 22a). Her 22assists rank 3rd in a season for 3rd years and she has moved up into 4thall-time with 46 career assists. Haas, who holds the record for scoring inconsecutive games at UVA with 27, ranks 10th all-time in scoring with 131career points (85+46). Her 58 points as a 3rd year ranks 4th all-time andis the 10th-highest total for a single-season in UVA history. In 1999 Jamiewas a 3rd-team All-American.


First Team
Jen Adams, Maryland
Allison Comito, Maryland
Kate Graw, Dartmouth
Sheehan Stanwick, Georgetown

Amy Fromal, Virginia
Christie Jenkins, Maryland
Kate Kaiser, Duke
Jess Marion, James Madison
Julie Shaner, Princeton
Jacque Weitzel, Dartmouth

Alivian Coates, James Madison
Caitlin McLean, Georgetown
Tonia Porras, Maryland
Porter Wilkinson, North Carolina

Tricia Dabrowski, Loyola
Alex Kahoe, Maryland

Second team:

Erin Elbe, Georgetown
Katrina Hable, Syracuse
Chrissy Lombard, Boston Univ.
Tricia Martin, Duke
Julie Martinez, James Madison
Stacey Morlang, Loyola
Loauren Simone, Princeton

Kristin Abruzzese, Boston Univ.
Meghann Mohler, North Carolina
Kristin Sommar, Maryland
Jennifer Webb, Penn State

Amy Brew, James Madison
Jess Nelson, Princeton
Stephy Samaras, Virginia
Amy Stein, Temple

Bowen Holden, Georgetown

Third Team:
Lauren Brady, Syracuse
Jamie Haas, Virginia
Danielle Maschuci, Johns Hopkins
Julie Tice, Penn State
Kellie Thompson, North Carolina

Christy Buck, Delaware
Liz Chambers, Rutgers
Sarah Edwards, Delaware
Kinsley O’Garrow, George Mason
Jamie Reynolds, Cornell
Dawn Will, Virginia Tech

Meredith Shuey, Vanderbilt
Carrie Soults, Syracuse
Megan Strenski, Yale
Meghan Walters, Duke

Sarah Hughes, Dartmouth


FIRST TEAM                       SECOND TEAM:Attack:                             Attack:Michele Baylor, Bloomsburg    Shannon Eidse, West ChesterKatie Lambert, Stonehill      Shaden Ghattas, C.W. PostStacey Reynolds, Gannon       Jessica Lee, GannonKim Rochon, West Chester      Katie MacLean,Bloomsburg

Midfield: Midfield:Kris Denson, Longwood Sarah Breyer, UC-DavisRoxann Emerick, Bloomsburg Carrie DiBasio, GannonMolly Flynn, Gannon Kristin Philpott, StonehillAllison Stonebarger, UC-Davis Dawn Smith, Limestone

Defense: Defense:Andrea Bing, West Chester Nicole Berkenbaugh, ShippensburgSara Brown, Gannon Kris Lawson, West ChesterTrish D’Amato, C. W. Post Margo Wiley, BloomsburgStephanie Meyer, Limestone Nicole Wiley, Bloomsburg

Goalkeeper: Goalkeeper:Yshonda Wisher, Bloomsburg Ginny McCauley, Stonehill

At-large: At-large:Keri Hopkins, Shippensburg Amanda Baldwin, MerrimackAngie Meyer, Limestone Jennifer Brokenshire, MillersvilleKristin Restivo, East Stroud. Megan Crouse, LimestoneNatalie Smith, Longwood Megan Macauley, East Stroudsburg


Lindsey Carey Haverford
Bridget Geiman Mary Washington
Dana Latona TCNJ
Katherine Rodormer Middlebury
Sarah Scheessele Amherst

Emily Fellona TCNJ
Jen Mezzadra Salisbury
Kristin Osborn Amherst
Cara Shortsleeve Williams
Karen Townsend Drew
Carrie Winkler Randolph-Macon

Karen English Swarthmore
Mary Jacobs Trinity
Samantha Ryall Union
Kate Weller Mary Washington

Leslie Khachadourian William Smith


Sarah Gloo Hamilton
Adrienne Gratry Bowdoin
Abby Harris Union
Laura Peace Denison
Caitlin Ritchie Williams

Jeanna Angotti Cortland
Heather Hawes Bowdoin
Jessa Martin Middlebury
Annie Sappington Salisbury
Brooke Van de Walker Cortland

Sarah Bannister Bowdoin
Ali Connelly Middlebury
Kareen Kreutziger U of Rochester
Jessica Seedorf Gettysburg

Katie Derosier Trinity
Sharon Vitulli TCNJ

Mary Kate Madden Rowan
Jamie Matty Ursinus
Betsy Wheeler Middlebury
Megan DiCave Virginia Wesleyan

Kelly Fetter St. Mary’s
Diane Grimm Mary Washington
Jen Ice Salisbury
Maya Lambiase Nazareth
Kelly McAleer Rowan
Danae Nason-Junco William Smith
Amy Stambaugh Gettysburg

Jody Donovan Colorado
Alison Kitay Amherst
Heather-lyn Mennis Drew
Sarah Tengwall Roanoke

Brooke Andrews Ithaca

Print Friendly Version