Story Links

Oct. 2, 2000

CHARLOTTESVILLE – University of Virginia sophomore forward Schuye LaRue has been named as one of the pre-season candidates for the 2000-2001 Naismith College Women’s Basketball Player of the Year Award. The Naismith Awards program, founded by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, annually honors the top male and female college basketball players in the nation. Preseason candidates were selected by a vote of the Board of Selectors comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball analysts.

LaRue led Virginia in scoring (14.4 ppg) and rebounding (8.0 rpg) last season and was named the 2000 Atlantic Coast Conference Rookie of the Year. The native of Washington, D.C. was the first Virginia freshman to be named a Kodak Honorable Mention All-American.

LaRue also earned All-ACC second team honors and was named to the ACC All-Tournament second team. During the regular season, LaRue led the ACC in field goal percentage (58.1), and was co-leader in blocked shots (1.4 bpg). The 6-3 forward earned a total of five ACC Rookie of the Week honors and led the league with nine double-doubles.

The women’s Naismith Award was first presented in 1983 and former Cavalier Dawn Staley was a two-time honoree winning in 1991 and 1992. Tamika Catchings of the University of Tennessee was the 2000 Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year.

Anne Donovan of Old Dominion was the first recipient of the Naismith Award. Other winners include three-time winner Cheryl Miller of USC, and two-time honorees Clarissa Davis of Texas and Chamique Holdsclaw of Tennessee.

Print Friendly Version