Story Links

April 25, 2002

Washington, D.C. – Virginia lacrosse player John Christmas has been added as one of three “Players to Watch” for The Tewaaraton Trophy, the most cherished and prestigious award a varsity lacrosse player can receive and a symbol of excellence in college lacrosse. Joining Christmas on the list of additional candidates selected by the men’s selection committee are Middlebury’s Matt Dunn and Tim McGuinness from Gettysburg College.

Christmas is one of the top freshmen in the country this season. He was named to the All-ACC squad, the first rookie so honored since UVa’s Michael Watson eight years ago. Christmas is currently tied for the ACC lead in scoring with 36 points (23g, 13a). He is second in the league in goals behind fellow freshman, teammate Joe Yevoli-the ACC’s Rookie of the Year.

His 23 goals are fifth in school history by a freshman, while his 36 points are ninth.

Christmas was named national player of the week following his 4-goal, 3-assist performance over then #1 Johns Hopkins last month.

Cavalier attackman Conor Gill and defenseman Mark Koontz were on the initial list for the second annual Tewaaraton Trophy released in early March.

The Tewaaraton Trophy is presented annually to the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse players in the United States and is the lacrosse equivalent of the Heisman Trophy. Scholarship money is given to the winners’ college or university general scholarship fund. The Foundation committee honors Native American heritage with the name “Tewaaraton,” the name the Mohawk nation gave to their game and the progenitor of present day lacrosse and has received approval from the Mohawk Council of Elders.

The Tewaaraton Trophy Awards Dinner will be presented at The University Club of Washington, D.C. on June 5, 2002 at a banquet honoring the finalists and winners.

Print Friendly Version