Story Links

Dec. 8, 2002

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. – Nine Virginia football players were recognized by the football program during the squad’s annual awards celebration on Saturday evening.

Tackle Mike Mullins (Falls Mills, Va.) earned the Colonel Frank C. McCue Award as UVa’s outstanding interior lineman. The senior also was recognized with honorable mention All-ACC accolades this fall.

Quarterback Matt Schaub (West Chester, Pa.) took home the Ben Wilson Award as UVa’s outstanding offensive player. Named the ACC’s Offensive and Player of the Year, the first-team all-ACC quarterback is the ACC’s leading passer and has set eight single-season school records. Schaub leads the ACC with 27 touchdown passes and a 66.7 completion percentage. His 2,794 yards passing and 2,850 yards of total offense are school records.

Senior Angelo Crowell (Winston-Salem, N.C.) and Jerton Evans (Lynchburg, Va.) shared the Ned McDonald Award as UVa’s most outstanding defensive players. Crowell has been in on 140 tackles this fall, including three sacks, and is seventh in the league with a 10.8 tackles per game average. He has caused four fumbles this season and is third in school history with 395 career tackles. An All-ACC second team selection, Evans has had the best season of his career this fall, with 108 tackles to tie the school record for most tackles by a defensive back. He is third on the team overall in tackling and is looking to be UVa’s leading tackler among defensive backs for the third year in a row.

Wide receiver Billy McMullen (Richmond, Va.) earned the Joe Palumbo Award for self-sacrifice and enthusiasm. The first-team All-ACC honoree is one of the greatest receivers in ACC history. The senior has caught 68 passes for 886 yards and three touchdowns this fall and has been the team’s leading receiver on eight occasions. Against Maryland he became just the third player in ACC history to catch 200 passes in a career. He is currently third with 205 receptions, 11 behind record holder Desmond Clark, who played at Wake Forest from 1995-98.

Cornerback Jamaine Winborne (Chesapeake, Va.) captured the Speed Elliott Award as UVa’s Most Improved Player. He started all 13 games and recorded more than 40 tackles and four pass break-ups.

Linebacker Darryl Blackstock (Newport News, Va.) was recognized with the Bill Dudley Award as UVa’s most outstanding first-year player. He earned All-ACC Honorable Mention honors.

Linebacker Merrill Robertson (Richmond, Va.) earned the John Polzer Award for ability, sportsmanship and character. He started 10 contests and finished second in tackles with 113. Robertson led the Cavs with five fumble recoveries.

Cornerback Alex Seals (Martinsville, Va.) captured the George Welsh Award as UVa’s outstanding special teams player. He played in all 13 games and recorded 22 tackles. In the upset of Maryland, Seals recorded his first career interception.

Virginia (8-5, 6-2 ACC) will face West Virginia (9-3, 6-1 Big East) in the Continental Tire Bowl on Saturday, Dec. 28 at 11 a.m. at Ericsson Stadium in Charlotte, N.C.


Frank McCue Award:	Mike MullinsBen Wilson Award:	Matt SchaubNed McDonald Award:	Angelo Crowell & Jerton EvansJoe Palumbo Award:	Billy McMullenSpeed Elliott Award:	Jamaine WinborneBill Dudley Award:	Darryl BlackstockJohn Polzer Award:	Merrill RobertsonGeorge Welsh Award:	Alex Seals
Print Friendly Version