Story Links

Dec. 4, 2005


The University of Virginia wrestling team sent six wrestlers to compete in Penn State’s 2005 Nittany Lion Open. Sophomore Rocco Caponi won the title at 184 pounds as he finished the tournament a perfect 6-0 registering two pins.

Zach Anderson, Adam Kimbrell, Peter Ferrara, Kyle Artusio and Scott Smith also competed for the Cavaliers. Ferrara at 141 pounds and Smith at 197 pounds each went 3-2 in the tournament.

Caponi, who is red-shirting this season for the Cavaliers to make the move up to 184 pounds next season, went undefeated at 184-pounds en route to the first place finish in his class. He pinned Michigan State’s John Murphy and Columbia’s Samuel Kuntz. Caponi earned a major decision over Lehigh’s Brian Lamay, 11-0. In the championship match, Caponi defeated Virginia Tech’s Steve Borja,3-2.

Here is a look at UVa’s individual results from the 2005 Nittany Lion Invitational:

125 pounds
Toby Seger (Clarion) decision Zach Anderson (Virginia), 4-1
Pat McCaffrey decision Zach Anderson, 8-2
133 pounds
Kyle McCarthy (Sacred Heart) decision Adam Kimbrell (Virginia), 3-2
Rick Rappo (Penn) decision Adam Kimbrell (Virginia), 9-7
141 pounds
Peter Ferrara (Virginia) decision AL IAQUINTA (NASSAU CC), 9-4
Chris Davis (Sacred Heart) pinned Peter Ferrara (Virginia), 4:43
Peter Ferrara (Virginia) pinned Joe Hasseman (Bloomsburg), 3:14
Peter Ferrara (Virginia) decision Cody Becker (Millersville), 8-4
Frankie Gayeski (Lehigh) pinned Peter Ferrara (Virginia), 5:13
157 pounds
Mike Parziale (Hofstra) Maj. dec. Kyle Artusio (Virginia), 17-8
184 pounds
Rocco Caponi (Virginia) pinned John Murphy (Michigan State), 5:17
Rocco Caponi (Virginia) decision Mark Himes (Duquesne), 4-2
Rocco Caponi (Virginia) pinned Samuel Kuntz (Columbia), 3:39
Rocco Caponi (Virginia) Maj. dec. Brian Lamay (Lehigh), 11-0
Rocco Caponi (Virginia) decision Chris Pogue (Navy), 3-2
Rocco Caponi (Virginia) decision Steve Borja (Va. Tech), 3-2
197 pounds
Tyler Moyer (Navy) decision Scott Smith (Virginia), 9-4
Scott Smith (Virginia) decision Steve Funk (Millersville), 4-2
Scott Smith (Virginia) decision Curtis Beardsell (Kutztown), 6-4
Scott Smith (Virginia) decision Pat Bradshaw (Edinboro), 3-1
Andrew Adams (Navy) decision Scott Smith (Virginia), 5-1

Print Friendly Version