Story Links

May 1, 2006

Charlottesville, VA – The 20th-ranked Virginia women’s golf team will play in the NCAA East Regional May 11-13 the NCAA announced today. UVa is the No. 7 seed in the field. The Cavaliers are one of 21 teams that will compete for eight spots to the NCAA Championships. The top two individuals not represented by one of the eight advancing teams will also qualify for the NCAA Championships. The East Regional will be held at Bryan Park Golf Course in Greensboro, N.C. and hosted by Wake Forest.

Last year UVa finished fifth at the East Regional in the program’s first postseason appearance. The Cavaliers went on to place 13th at the NCAA Championships. Leah Wigger was the runner-up in both tournaments.

The complete field for the East Regional includes: 1. Arizona State, 2. Auburn, 3. Tennessee, 4. Wake Forest, 5. California, 6. Vanderbilt, 7. Virginia, 8. South Carolina, 9. LSU, 10. Florida State, 11. Alabama, 12. North Carolina State, 13. Augusta State, 14. Maryland, 15. Furman, 16. North Carolina, 17. Mississippi State, 18. Campbell, 19. College of Charleston, 20. East Carolina, 21 and Yale. Individuals: 1. Adrienne White, Louisville, 2. Christina Jones, South Florida and 3. Michelle Jarman, North Carolina-Wilmington

The field for the other regionals sites includes:

The Central Regional at The Traditions at Texas A&M, College Station, Texas:1. Duke, 2. Southern California,3. Pepperdine,4. Texas A&M, 5. Florida,6. Oklahoma State,7. Kent State, 8. Ohio State,9. Michigan State,10. SMU,11. TCU,12. Missouri,13. Baylor,14. Tulsa,15. Nebraska,16. Northwestern,17. Texas,18. Birmingham-Southern, 19. Jacksonville State, 20. Jackson State and 21. St. Francis (Pa.). Individuals:1. Samantha Richdale, Illinois State,2. Amy Schmucker, Michigan and 3. Amanda Costner, Kansas

The West Regional at the Washington National Golf Club, Auburn, Washington:1. UCLA, 2. Georgia, 3. Purdue, 4. Arkansas,5. UNLV, 6. Arizona,7. Stanford,8. New Mexico,9. Washington,10. Long Beach State,11. Brigham Young,12. UC Irvine, 13. San Jose State, 14. Denver, 15. Oregon State,16. Washington State,17. New Mexico State,18. Georgia State, 19. Oral Roberts, 20. Bradley and 21. Montana. Individuals: 1. Jessica Potter, San Francisco, 2. Renee Skidmore, Idaho and 3. Chelsea Benton, Colorado State.

Print Friendly Version