Story Links

May 16, 2006

Washington, DC – University of Virginia men’s lacrosse players Kyle Dixon and Matt Ward are among five finalists for the Tewaaraton Trophy presented by Warrior, given annually to the outstanding player in college lacrosse.

They are joined by Sean Morris from Massachusetts, Chris Unterstein of Hofstra and Maryland’s Joe Walters.

The Cavalier duo have been key contributors on the nation’s number-one team and the only remaining undefeated squad in the country (14-0).

A leading candidate for midfielder of the year, Dixon is the only midfielder among the five Tewaaraton finalists. He was named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference squad for the first time this year. Dixon has scored 16 goals and added 17 assists. He leads ACC midfielders in assists per game (1.31) and points per game (2.54). He is also one of only seven midfielders in the country with as many as 15 goals and 15 assists this season.

Ward is the Cavaliers’ leading scorer with 50 points this season and ranks in the top 20 nationally in goals per game, assists per game and total points per game. He was named to the All-ACC team for the third year in a row. Ward ranks fourth in UVa history with 127 career goals and 10th with 191 career points. This season he has scored 30 goals and recorded 20 assists, both team-leading figures. He has been UVa’s leading goal scorer on six occasions this year.

Chris Rotelli, a standout midfielder on UVa’s 2003 national championship squad, is the only Cavalier to win the award.

The trophy will be presented in Washington, DC, on June 1 at a ceremony at the National Geographic Society Auditorium.

Print Friendly Version