Story Links

May 17, 2006

Virginia lacrosse captain Nikki Lieb was named a finalist for the 2006 Tewaaraton Trophy, as announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation today. The Tewaaraton Trophy honors the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse player in the United States. Lieb joins Northwestern’s Kristen Kjellman, Notre Dame’s Crysti Foote, Georgetown’s Coco Stanwick, and Duke’s Katie Chrest as a finalist.

Lieb concluded her lacrosse career at Virginia as one of the most prolific players, ranking in the career top 10 in both draw controls (2nd, 136) and caused turnovers (7th, 83) and in the top 15 in ground balls (15th, 189). This year she was asked to take on a more offensive role, and she did just that, more than doubling her career totals by scoring more goals and assisting more goals this year alone than in her previous three years combined. She is a two-time first team All-American, a three-time All-ACC and All-ACC Tournament selection, and a two-time All-NCAA Tournament honoree. She led the Cavaliers in draw controls (43), caused turnovers (24), and minutes played (1109) and ranked second in ground balls (44).

Lieb is the fourth Cavalier to be recognized as a finalist. Amy Appelt, a two-time finalist, won the award in 2004 and was a finalist in 2005. Lauren Aumiller was a finalist in both 2002 and 2003. Tiffany Schummer was a finalist in 2003.

In 2006, Virginia’s Matt Ward and Kyle Dixon were both named finalists as well and will join Lieb at the June 1 dinner.

The Tewaaraton Award Foundation, in conjunction with the University Club of Washington, D.C., formally established the “Tewaaraton Trophy” on August 29, 2000. Today, the Tewaaraton Trophy is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse player in the United States. The sixth annual award will be given at a banquet on Thursday, June 1. The event will take place in Washington D.C. at the National Geographic Society headquarters.

Print Friendly Version