Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE – Virginia begins the home stretch of its non-conference schedule Thursday night, facing Davidson at 7 p.m. in John Paul Jones Arena.

The Cavaliers are coming off of a 75-45 loss at No. 2/2 Connecticut, the highest-ranked opponent of the year. Four players are averaging double figures in scoring, led by Monica Wright (16.1 ppg) and followed by Lyndra Littles (16.0 ppg), Aisha Mohammed (12.1 ppg) and Paulisha Kellum (11.0 ppg). The fifth starter, Sharne Zoll, leads the team with 4.8 assists per game.

A Look At Davidson
Davidson has an overall record of 6-3 after defeating High Point, 72-61, on Dec. 15. The Wildcats are led by Mercedes Robinson (10.7 ppg, 6.8 rpg) and Alex Thompson (9.0 ppg). Head coach Annette Watts (East Tennessee State 81) is in her seventh season at Davidson. Virginia and Davidson have never met in women’s basketball action.

15-Day Break
The Cavaliers’ last game was on Dec. 5, making it 15 days since competition. UVa has a similar break each season as student-athletes take final exams and concentrate on their studies.

Monica Wright Named To Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List
Second-year guard Monica Wright was named to the 2007-08 Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List, presented by AT&T, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced. The Woodbridge, Va., native and reigning ACC Rookie of the Year is one of just five sophomores on the prestigious list. In January, the Naismith voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country will narrow its preseason list to the Top-30 players in the nation. These players will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

ACC players on the list include: Wright, Marissa Coleman (Maryland), Laura Harper (Maryland), Crystal Langhorne (Maryland), Erlana Larkins (North Carolina), Kristi Toliver (Maryland) and Abby Waner (Duke). The five sophomores on the list are: Wright, Jayne Appel (Stanford), Tina Charles (Connecticut), Allyssa DeHaan (Michigan State) and Amber Harris (Xavier).

Up Next
Virginia hosts the Marriott Cavalier Classic on Dec. 28-29 at John Paul Jones Arena. Marshall, Missouri and Delaware State are the visiting teams.

Print Friendly Version