Story Links

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA Ben Rubeor and Danny Glading are among 22 nominees for the 2008 Tewaaraton Trophy announced by the Tewaaraton Award Foundation. The Tewaaraton Trophy is given annually to the top lacrosse player in the nation.

Rubeor has been one of the nation’s top players the past two seasons. He was a finalist for the award as a junior last season. He missed the first three games this season with a knee injury but has returned to spearhead the Cavalier attack. He has scored 22 goals and added eight assists in nine games. Earlier this season he became just the 10th player in school history to score 100 career goals; he is currently fifth with 120.

Glading has continued to make a big move this season. The junior leads the team in assists (career-high 28) and total points (46). He also ranks second in the country in assists and seventh in scoring. He has been the team’s leading scorer on seven occasions this season, including three of the last four.

This list will be trimmed to five finalists in early May. The Tewaaraton Trophy will be presented at the annual awards banquet in Washington, D.C., on May 29.

Virginia is the only school to have two different players win the Tewaaraton Trophy. Matt Ward won the award after leading Virginia to a national championship in 2006, while midfielder Chris Rotelli won it as a senior in 2003 after leading UVa to the national championship.

The complete list is below.

Ben Rubeor
Danny Glading
Kylor Berkman Salisbury
Jeremy Blevins UMBC
Steven Brooks Syracuse
Jordan Burke Brown
Brendan Cannon Georgetown
Matt Danowski Duke
Jordan DiNola Navy
Curtis Dickson Delaware
Adam Fullerton Army
John Glynn Cornell
Zack Greer Duke
Joey Kemp Notre Dame
Terry Kimener UMBC
Jerry Lambe Georgetown
Mike Leveille Syracuse
Mike McDonald LeMoyne
Nick O’Hara Duke
Steven Peyser Johns Hopkins
Paul Rabil Johns Hopkins
Max Seibald Cornell
Print Friendly Version