Story Links

Charlottesville, VA For the first time since 2005 the Virginia men’s golf team has received a bid to the NCAA Championships. The Cavaliers will compete at the East Regional Championship May 15-17 at the Council Fire Golf Club in Chattanooga, Tenn. The top 10 teams from each of the three 27-team regional sites will advance to the NCAA Championships along with the top two individuals from each site. The NCAA Championships are scheduled for May 28-31 at Purdue’s Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex-The Kampen Course.

Virginia is the No. 22 seed in the East Regional.

“It is an honor to be recognized as one of the top teams in the country and have the opportunity to compete in the NCAA Championships,” said UVa coach Bowen Sargent. “This is a big step forward for our program to do what they had to do late in the year to be selected. Any time you have youth, you cannot be certain of the results, but the guys matured a lot through the year and grew a lot as players and as a team collectively. They knew what they had to do and did it.”

The regional berth marks the 12th time since 1990 the Cavaliers have advanced to postseason play. Virginia is looking to advance to the NCAA Championships for the 11th time in its history and the first time since finishing 25th at the 2000 tournament.

The field for the East Regional includes (listed by seed): Georgia, Charlotte, South Carolina, Duke, Tennessee-Chattanooga, Auburn, East Tennessee State, Michigan State, Mississippi, Alabama-Birmingham, Virginia Tech, NC State, Mississippi State, Georgia State, North Florida, Cal-Irvine, Augusta State, SMU, Middle Tennessee, Coastal Carolina, Memphis, Virginia, Western Carolina, Colorado State, New Mexico State, Western Illinois and Jackson State.

The NCAA’s Central Regional will be played at Ohio State’s Scarlet Golf Course and the West Regional is being held at Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash.

Central Regional
Alabama, Oklahoma State, Georgia Tech, Florida, Tennessee, Lamar, Wake Forest, Indiana, Texas A&M, Louisville, Wichita State, Kent State, Penn State, Arkansas, Michigan, TCU, Texas-Arlington, Illinois, Ohio State, Baylor, Colorado, Eastern Kentucky, Marquette, Eastern Michigan, Cleveland State, Loyola (Md.) and Sacred Heart.

West Regional
Southern California, UCLA, Florida State, Stanford, Clemson, UNLV, North Carolina, Texas Tech, Central Florida, Arizona State, San Diego State, Texas, LSU, Oregon State, Pepperdine, Oregon, California, St. Mary’s, Kentucky, Wisconsin, Oklahoma, Kansas State, San Diego, Denver, Navy and Columbia.

Print Friendly Version