Story Links

Charlottesville, VA A pair of Virginia senior football players have been named to the preseason watch lists for two major college football awards. Linebacker Clint Sintim is a preseason candidate for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which is awarded to the best defensive player in college football and sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Monroe, an offensive tackle, is on the list for The Outland Trophy.

Sintim enters his senior season having started the last 37 games at Virginia. He was third on the team in tackling in 2007 with 77 stops. He led the nation in sacks by a linebacker with nine and enters his senior season with 16 career sacks. Sintim has been named a captain for the 2008 season.

An honorable mention All-ACC pick in 2007, Monroe started 11 games at left tackle for UVa’s Gator Bowl team last season. He did not allow a sack during the regular season and was the line’s top grader in five games. He was named the ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week following Virginia’s win at North Carolina when the Cavaliers rushed for 197 yards.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner from the association’s 11- man All-America defensive team in November. The watch list was developed by the FWAA All-America committee with the help of the schools and conferences.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy has been presented since 1993 and is awarded in memory of the legendary Nagurski, a former All-America lineman at Minnesota in 1927-29 and a star for professional football’s Chicago Bears in the 1930s.

Last season Cavalier defensive end Chris Long was a finalist for the Nagurski Trophy.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best interior lineman in college football since 1946. With input from the entire FWAA membership, the winner is selected by the FWAA’s All-America Committee, which selects the association’s 25-man All-America team and picks the three Outland Trophy finalists and the winner.

The 2008 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 11 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPNU Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Three finalists will appear on the show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be on Jan. 15, 2008 in Omaha, Neb.
The Outland Trophy is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. Senior defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey, who played for the national champion LSU Tigers, won the 2007 Outland Trophy.

Print Friendly Version